YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsHonor Society

Honor Society

June 14, 2011
Stephanie Robinson, a business major from McConnellsburg, Pa., was inducted into Phi Sigma Iota honor society at Lycoming College. Phi Sigma Iota Foreign Language Honor Society recognizes scholastic achievement in foreign languages. There are approximately 250 chapters of Phi Sigma Iota at institutions of higher learning in the United States, Mexico and France.
June 10, 2011
The Hagerstown Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was recognized at the 93rd annual Convention of Phi Theta Kappa in Seattle. Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society for two-year colleges. This year's convention was attended by more than 3,500 members from 535 chapters around the world. Five students represented HCC's chapter at the conference — Aletha Shaffer of Boonsboro; Amanda England and Carlee Myers, both of Hagerstown; and siblings Andrea and Stefan Theodoru, both of Smithsburg.
May 21, 2011
Students at Shepherd University recently were inducted into the campus’ chapter of Phi Kappa Phi honor society. The following local students were inducted into the chapter: • Berkeley Springs, W.Va. — Eric Morris, Mary Ross • Brunswick, Md. — Katherine Tregoe • Bunker Hill, W.Va. — Stephanie N. Brooks, Joy Kerns, Jessica M. Pearson • Charles Town, W.Va. — Rebecca Furby, Elizabeth Frawley, Ryan Laspina-Carriger • Clear Spring — Asya Brown • Falling Waters, W.Va.
May 2, 2011
Boonsboro High School inducted new members into the Spanish Honor Society.   The ceremony was preceded by international cuisine prepared by the students and teachers. This year there also was a PowerPoint presentation on Ukraine by Boonsboro exchange student Kateryna Nykonenko.    New members of the Boonsboro High Spanish Honor Society for 2011 (in alphabetical order) include Scott Bennett, Chad Cowden, Taylor Cook, Caroline Cukier, Abby Duncan, Hannah Froehlich, Ashlyn Hawbaker, Sara Hobbs, Steven Kurapaty, Brittany Kookaby, Kelsey Mannix, Shannon McClellan, Jennifer Moore, Shannon O’Brien, Brandon Russell and Rami Yanes.
April 18, 2011
 Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society at Hagerstown Community College, recently inducted new members. To be eligible for the honor, students must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher and must have completed 12 credit hours of college-level work at HCC as a full-time student, or 15 credit hours of college-level work at HCC as a part-time student. Big Pool — Daniel Gehr Boonsboro — Shawn Curtis, Sherrie Ellsworth, Gordon Fairman, Jennifer Gearhart, Richard Howe, Chelsea Kershner, Jean Meyers, Christina Russell, Catherine Szuchnicki Clear Spring — Richard Heines, Damara McDonough, William Mull Hagerstown — Edward Anderson, Sarah Arch, Jill Atherton, David Calvert, Katherine Carpio-Pinto, Andrea Ceci, Shawn Clayton, Roberta Dahlgreen, Kelly Dimmick, Migdalia Downs, Amie Eichelberger, David Goldsborough, Matt-hew Hast, Sherrie-Lynn Holloman, Maria Ingles, Syeda Javed, Melissa Jones, Stephanie Jones, Regina Magee, Kristina McCusker, Kari Mellott, Debra Michael, Pamela Newman, Anthony Pence, Merna Pettit, Debra Reed, Chad Russell, Melinda Rypczyk-McTonic, Michael Salguero, Daniel Saunders, Margi Shah, Karen Sharer, Ragan Shaw, Daniel Taylor, Jonathan Tydings, Loraine Viar, Cassandra Wagaman, Wuquing Wang, Melissa Ward, Lashelle Wiggins Hancock — Hannah Creek, Michael Pyles Keedysville — Cornelia Barber, Megan Roberts Sharpsburg — Sean Chapelle Smithsburg...
August 16, 2010
GREENCASTLE, Pa. - The National Honor Society continued the tradition of celebrating the graduating class at Greencastle-Antrim High School with a luncheon, following commencement practice June 11, with help from the senior class representatives and local businesses. Preparation for the event was initiated by NHS junior parents, including Angie Houpt, Martha Coda, Penny Eichelberger, Teresa Zook and Brenda De-Young. Newly inducted NHS juniors, along with parents Penne Baer, Cindy Rudy and Diana Thrush also assisted with the preparations.
May 22, 2010
Richard Alexander "Alex" Aleshire of Williamsport High School has been inducted into the National Society of High School Scholars with a 3.8 grade-point average. Alex, a sophomore, is also a member of the Williamsport High basketball and soccer teams. He is playing club soccer at the Hagerstown Soccer Club, is playing AAU basketball and is playing baseball at Conococheague Senior League. He is the son of Rick and Cheryl Aleshire of Hagerstown. BLACKSBURG, Va. - Nathan Brandt, a graduating senior at Clear Spring High School, is the recipient of a Dean's Scholar Award in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech.
The Herald-Mail Articles