Former Summit Health chief receives Zane A. Miller award

September 05, 2013|By JENNIFER FITCH |
  • Franklin County Area Development Corp. President L. Michael Ross performs a skit Thursday night at the organization's 27th annual Industry Appreciation Dinner at Green Grove Gardens in Greencastle, Pa.
By Ric Dugan/Staff Photographer

GREENCASTLE, Pa. — The Franklin County (Pa.) Area Development Corp.’s annual industry appreciation dinner held Thursday was all about hospital administrators and hospital gowns.

The organization recognized former Summit Health President and Chief Executive Officer Norman B. Epstein with its top award just a half hour after a spoof about medical procedures.

L. Michael Ross, FCADC president, took the stage wearing a gown and carrying a catheter bag to poke fun at his recent health issues. He cracked jokes about his urologists and tests, generating hearty laughter from a capacity crowd at Green Grove Gardens.

In accepting the Zane A. Miller award for contributions in business, civic commitment and volunteerism, Epstein jokingly thanked Ross for his accurate portrayal of the county’s health care system. Epstein, who was clearly surprised by the award, said it was nice to be recognized and partly embarrassing.

Epstein said he wanted to accept the award on behalf of the 3,000 people who work for Summit Health, which is Franklin County’s largest private employer. He praised the employees’ daily commitment to care.

“It’s them that do that,” he said. “It’s certainly a team in every single way.”

Epstein graduated from Temple University with a master’s degree in hospital administration. He became the vice president and chief operating officer of Chambersburg (Pa.) Hospital in 1989, and led the organization as Chambersburg Hospital and Waynesboro (Pa.) Hospital joined under the Summit Health umbrella in 1995.

In July, Epstein stepped down from his position, although he remains with Summit Health as an adviser.

The industry appreciation dinner also provided FCADC an opportunity to name its annual large and small businesses of the year.

Trucking and warehousing business Gabler Inc., which has 72 employees, was named the small business of the year. In accepting the award, Chip Gabler thanked employees, customers, vendors and suppliers, and his family.

Volvo Construction Equipment, which invested $145 million in a Shippensburg, Pa., plant, is the large business of the year.

“Volvo and its employees do truly realize what this award means and the responsibility you have as a large business. We desire to be a leader in the community ... and have a positive impact on the economic climate for future generations,” said Shawn Glennon, vice president of Shippensburg operations.

FCADC highlighted Letterkenny Army Depot’s munitions center in a video. The depot stores $8 billion of munitions, including Phoenix missiles, according to comments in the video segment.


Previous Zane A. Miller Award winners
1993 — Zane A. Miller
1994 — Joe Ausherman
1995 — Sam Worley
1996 — Robert Zullinger
1997 — John L. Grove
1998 — T.K. Nitterhouse
1999 — Terry Punt
2000 — Bud Shuster
2001 — Dalton Paul
2002 — John McD. Sharpe Jr.
2003 — Julio Lecuona
2004 — Anthony Ceddia
2005 — Paul Dunlap
2006 — David G. Sciamanna
2007 — Charles Sioberg
2008 — Marelin K. Sipes
2009 — Michael Christopher
2010 — G. Warren Elliott
2011 — Gregory A. Duffey
2012 — Dave George

The Herald-Mail Articles