Six new Berkeley County Sheriff's Office deputies sworn in

August 15, 2013

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. — Six newly hired Berkeley County Sheriff’s Office deputies were sworn in Thursday at the Berkeley County Council’s regular meeting.

The new deputies are Matthew Stewart, Kurt Yoder, Joshua Harmison, Charles Warhurst, Noel Spickler and Darrell Cox.

Council President Anthony J. “Tony” Petrucci and fellow council members thanked them for their willingness to serve the community.

“We don’t take this lightly what you do,” Petrucci said.

At least some of the deputies are scheduled to go to the West Virginia State Police Academy for training later this month, according to Sheriff Kenneth Lemaster.

One of the new hires will serve as the resource officer for Spring Mills High School, joining deputies assigned to Musselman and Hedgesville high schools, respectively, Lemaster said.


Petrucci later announced that the council received a letter from Lemaster announcing the termination of Deputy Shannon Layne and military leave for Deputy A. Boothby.

The newly hired deputies filled several existing vacancies, which increased by two last month with the resignations of deputies Steve Crites and Caleb Pearson.

Crites had been on administrative leave without pay since the spring of 2012 when he was indicted by a federal grand jury on bank fraud charges.

Those charges are pending in U.S. District Court in Martinsburg, according to court records.

— Matthew Umstead

The Herald-Mail Articles