Only one upset in Jefferson County municipalities elections

June 12, 2013|By RICHARD F. BELISLE |

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. — Recent elections held in four Jefferson County municipalities resulted in just one upset, when two-term Charles Town City Councilman Don Clendening lost his seat to challenger Jonathan Wertman by just two votes.

Clendening ended Election Day ahead of Wertman by one vote, but fell behind by two votes when provisional ballots were counted, City Manager Joe Cosentini said.

A recount didn’t change the outcome.

Incumbent Councilman Rich Bringewatt beat challenger Geary Johns by 219 votes to 143.

Incumbent Mayor Peggy Smith was unchallenged, as were incumbent council members Sandra McDonald and Chester Hines.


Ranson’s election was a bit more complicated.

Recorder Tony Braithwaite stepped down April 30 because he was moving out of town.

Incumbent Councilwoman Debbie McClure, who did not seek re-election, was appointed by the council to fill the remainder of Braithwaite’s term, which ends in 2014, city spokeswoman Stacey Pfaltzgraff said.


The council then appointed Mike Anderson, who had filed for McClure’s seat, to fill her seat to the end of her current term, which ends June 30. Anderson went into the election unopposed and will serve a full four-year term.

Incumbent Ranson Mayor A. David Hamill, a 27-year council veteran, was unopposed in his re-election bid.

Longtime incumbent Councilman Duke Pierson also was unopposed for a new term.

Harpers Ferry

Mayor Joe Anderson did not run for another term. He was replaced on Election Day by incumbent Councilman Greg Vaughn, who was unopposed, a town official said.

Helen “Hap” Baker, also unopposed, was elected to replace Vaughn.

Town Recorder Kevin Carden and the four other council incumbents ran unopposed.


Unopposed Mayor Robert Hardy was returned to office. There was a contest for the vacant council seat being vacated by incumbent Councilman Dr. Edmund Stazyk.

Two former councilwomen, Vicki Eckert and Donna Howe Callar, ran for Stazyk’s seat, with Callar winning the position, Councilman Paul Staubs said.

Also unopposed were Recorder P. Jean Reed and council members John Paul Heafer, Helen Dettmer, David Kardok and Staubs.

The Herald-Mail Articles