Kiwanis Club of Hagerstown awards eight scholarships

June 10, 2013
  • The Kiwanis Club of Hagerstown awarded $7,600 in scholarships at its May meetings. From left, Michael Gardner, Kiwanis Club liaison to the South Hagerstown High School Key Club; Sandra Reynolds, Smithsburg High School (Dayhoff Scholarship); Michelle Thiry, South Hagerstown High School (Key Club Scholarship); Angela Vines, South Hagerstown High School (Key Club Scholarship); Alison Staubs, Washington County Technical High School (Kepler Scholarship); and Jim Miller, president of the Kiwanis Club.
Submitted photo

The Kiwanis Club of Hagerstown awarded eight scholarships to graduating high school seniors at club meetings in May.

The scholarships are presented annually to area students as part of the club’s commitment to young people in the community. This year’s scholarships totaled $7,600.

Six $600 scholarships were awarded to Key Club members from North and South Hagerstown High Schools and Heritage Academy. Key Clubs are the high school affiliates of the Kiwanis Club.

Scholarships are based on academic accomplishments, extracurricular activity, community service and financial consideration.

This year’s winners are Amy Calandrelle and Maggie Manspeaker, North Hagerstown High School; Michelle Thiry and Angela Vines, South Hagerstown High School; and Bryce Nigh and Tristan Prejean, Heritage Academy.

Calandrelle will attend Towson University; Manspeaker will attend Bucknell University; Thiry will attend Ursinus College; Vines will attend Hood College; Nigh will attend Ohio University; and Prejean will attend the University of Maryland. 

The $2,000 Atlee C. Kepler Scholarship was established in 1993 to recognize Kepler’s 33 years of service to the community as administrative leader of Hagerstown Junior College. Kepler was a longtime member of the Hagerstown Kiwanis Club.

This year’s scholarship was awarded to Alison Staubs, Washington County Technical High School. Staubs will attend Hood College in the fall and plans to major in social science.   

The John R. Dayhoff Scholarship, also $2,000, was awarded to Sandra Reynolds from Smithsburg High School. The Dayhoff Scholarship was established in 1997 in memory of club member John Dayhoff. It is awarded annually to a graduate who plans to pursue a career in a health-related field.

Reynolds will attend the University of Pittsburgh in the fall. Kitty Dayhoff-Fischel, John’s widow, sponsors a portion of the scholarship.

The Kiwanis Club of Hagerstown has awarded scholarships to deserving high school seniors for more than 40 years. The club has distributed scholarships totaling $46,000 since 2000.

The club meets Thursdays at 12:15 p.m. at the Academy Theater Banquet and Conference Center, 58 E. Washington St., Hagerstown. 

For membership information, call 301-223-4123.

The Herald-Mail Articles