Advertisement

Waynesboro Water Dept. to flush fire hydrants

March 18, 2013

WAYNESBORO, Pa. — The Waynesboro Water Department will begin flushing all fire hydrants in the borough's water service area on Monday, April 1.

This program is a necessary system maintenance function in which sediment is expelled from the distribution system by opening fire hydrants and flowing them until the water appears clear, according to a news release.

The flushing program also allows personnel to assess the proper operation of the fire hydrants.

Some customers in the water service area being flushed might experience brief water discoloration and slight pressure fluctuations, the news release stated.

The hydrant flushing schedule is as follows:

Monday, April 1 — Country Club Estates, Woodcrest and Old Forge

Tuesday, April 2 — Country Club Road and Bayer Drive areas

Wednesday, April 3 — Bayer Drive, Rinehart Drive and Gehr Road

Thursday, April 4 — Antietam Commons and North Welty Road

Friday, April 5 — South Welty Road, Barnett Avenue, Geiser Avenue, Strickler Avenue, North Landis Avenue and North Oller Avenue

Monday, April 8 — South Oller Avenue, Twin Hill Drive, Monta Vista Drive, Eastland Hills and Old Mill Road

Tuesday, April 9 — Wynncrest Drive, area around hospital, Hawbaker Avenue and North Broad Street area

Wednesday, April 10 — North Church Street, Sheffield Manor, Stottlemyer Road and Elder Avenue areas

Thursday, April 11 — North Potomac Street, Wallace Court, Garfield Street, Brown Street and North Grant Street areas

Friday, April 12 — Franklin Street, C.V. Avenue, Tritle Avenue, Frick Avenue and Prices Church Road

Monday, April 15 — East Main Street, East Second Street, East Third Street, East Fourth Street, Clayton Avenue and South Church Street

Tuesday, April 16 — East Fifth Street, East Sixth Street, South Church Street and Ninth Street areas

Wednesday, April 17 — Hollengreen Estates and South Church Street

Thursday, April 18 — West Main Street and West Second Street

Friday, April 19 — West Third Street, Fairview Avenue, Cleveland Avenue and West Fourth Street

Monday, April 22 — West Fifth Street, West Sixth Street, West Eighth Street, Park Street, West Ninth Street and South Potomac Street

Tuesday, April 23 — Eastern parts of Zullinger area

Wednesday, April 24 — Western parts of Zullinger area

Advertisement
The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|