Hancock Mayor Daniel Murphy re-elected

two new members elected to town council

January 28, 2013
  • Hancock Mayor Daniel A. Murphy, left, was re-elected, while new council members, Homer Schetrompf, center, and Ralph Salvagno, right, were also elected Monday night.
File photos

HANCOCK — Mayor Daniel A. Murphy was re-elected to a ninth two-year term Monday night, defeating former councilmen Nigel Dardar and Tim Smith, according to complete but unofficial results from Hancock’s municipal election.

Also, two new faces — Ralph Salvagno and Homer Schetrompf — were elected to the town council, handing defeat to incumbent council members Dennis Hudson and January Souders, according to returns.

Murphy received 204 votes to 109 for Dardar and 107 for Smith.

Smith was midway through his second four-year term when he resigned late last year in order to run for mayor. Robert Anthony McCusker, a former councilman, was appointed to fill the last two years of Smith’s term.

Dardar was nearing the end of his first term when he resigned to run against Murphy. When Dardar resigned, Souders was appointed by the mayor and town council to fill the last weeks of his term.

Schetrompf was the top vote-getter in the race for two council seats with 143 votes. Salvagno picked up 139 votes, according to returns.

The other council candidates and their votes included Souders with 127 votes; Hudson with 111 votes; Michael Faith, 95 votes; Greg Yost, 83 votes; David Kerns, 68 votes; Stephen Van Meter, 26 votes and Charles Wilkinson, 11 votes.

The Herald-Mail Articles