New Year's holiday closings

December 29, 2012

The following agencies will be closed to observe the New Year’s holiday

Washington County

Government offices: County government offices will be closed on New Year’s Eve (Monday, Dec. 31) and New Year’s Day (Tuesday, Jan. 1).

Transit: All service will be halted Monday at 7 p.m. and will remain closed Tuesday.

Landfill: All locations will be closed Monday and Tuesday.

City of Hagerstown

Government offices: City offices will be closed Tuesday.

State of Maryland

State offices: State government offices will be closed Monday for a service reduction day and Tuesday for the New Year’s Day holiday.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation: All DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public Monday and Tuesday. Unemployment insurance telephone and web operations will be available Monday.

Motor Vehicle Administration: The MVA will close its full service, express offices and VEIP stations for a service reduction day on Monday and for the New Year’s holiday on Tuesday. 


All Pennsylvania Department of Transportation driver license and photo centers, including its full-service center in Harrisburg, will be closed Tuesday.

U.S. Postal Service

Post offices will be closed Tuesday.

Post offices will be open during their normal times on Jan. 2.

The Herald-Mail Articles