Clear Spring Town Council sworn in

December 10, 2012

CLEAR SPRING — A pair of incumbent Clear Spring Town Council members fresh off their re-election victories last month were sworn in Monday night at Town Hall.

Washington County Clerk of Courts Dennis Weaver administered the oath of office for Vice Mayor Steven L. Blickenstaff and Councilwoman Megan Yeakle before a short reception to celebrate their returns to council as a result of the town’s election on Nov. 5.

“I’m very honored and feel really privileged to do it,” Blickenstaff said of his re-election.

Blickenstaff, who has served on the council for eight years now, defeated a pair of challengers, Sue Brennan and David Robertson, with 33 total votes, while Yeakle ran unopposed. Their terms run through 2014.

When she was first elected to a two-year term in 2010 at age 23, Yeakle, now 25, became the youngest council member in town history, Town Clerk Juanita Grimm said.

Yeakle said she was asked to run for council the first time around, but has enjoyed her time serving the town and decided to run again.

“I want to know the six people who didn’t vote for me,” she joked after Monday’s meeting, referring to her 51-vote total out of 57 total voters in the elections.

Blickenstaff serves as the town’s sewer commissioner and Yeakle handles water commissioner duties.

The terms of the other current council members — Mayor Paul D. Hose, Jr., Carol Hovermale and Theodore Hovermale — run through 2013.


— C.J. Lovelace

The Herald-Mail Articles