Nominations sought for Person of the Year award

November 08, 2012

In each of the past 13 years, The Herald-Mail has celebrated the New Year by selecting a Person of the Year, someone who has had a significant, positive effect on Hagerstown and Washington County and those who live here.

We are preparing to do that again this year, with the selection of the 2012 Person of the Year.

Candidates for the honor are nominated by people in the community. After nominations are in, the Person of the Year is chosen by a group of local residents and Herald-Mail employees.

The winner will be featured in a detailed profile that will be published on the front page of the Jan. 1, 2013, edition of The Herald-Mail.

The Person of the Year is given a crystal bowl and $1,000 to donate to a charity of his or her choice.

Choosing among the nominees is always difficult and anyone who has been involved has found that there are a great many people in this community who donate their time and resources to making life better in Washington County.

Previous winners include Norman Shea, Art Callaham, James G. Pierné, John F. Barr, Lois Smith Harrison, Elizabeth Morgan, Frederick C. Wright III, Merle Elliott, Howard S. Kaylor and the late John Waltersdorf, Mike Callas, John R. Hershey Jr. and Dr. Dan McDougal.

All of them have had one thing in common. They were less concerned with getting public credit for their deeds than they were about getting something accomplished.

One need not be well-known to be nominated for this honor. The only requirements are that the nominees live in Washington County and have done good things for the community.

Please consider suggesting a worthy candidate.

A nomination form is printed on page A11 of today’s Herald-Mail, and will be printed again several times over the next two weeks. The form also can be completed online at

Nominations must be received by 4 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 26.

The Herald-Mail Articles