Incumbent commissioner falls in Panhandle

November 07, 2012

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. — Former Jefferson County Commissioner Jane Tabb turned the tables on incumbent Commissioner Frances Morgan in Tuesday’s election when she regained the seat that she lost to Morgan six years ago.

Tabb beat Morgan 12,178 to 8,905, according to complete, but unofficial results with all 32 precincts reporting.

Whatever the outcome of Tuesday’s voting, the county commission remains at three women and two men, although Tabb’s election brings two Republicans to the board.

Morgan was the only commissioner among the five whose seat was up for re-election this year.

Also a family farm owner, Tabb, 59, of Kearneysville, W.Va., campaigned on her six years experience as a county commissioner and on her belief that county residents are not being fairly represented by the current commission. She also promised to push for a streamlining of the county’s land-use regulations to cut the time it takes to approve projects.

In Martinsburg, W.Va., Berkeley County Councilwoman Elaine C. Mauck was leading among three candidates vying for two seats in her bid for re-election, according to nearly complete, but unofficial results.

With 64 of 66 precincts reporting, Mauck, 65, of Martinsburg received 19,722 votes compared to 18,243 votes for fellow Republican James R. “Jim” Barnhart, 63, of Martinsburg, according to tallies released Tuesday night by County Clerk John W. Small Jr’s office.

Democrat Mark T. Barney, 33, of Hedgesville, W.Va., received 15,995 votes.

If his lead over Barnhart stands, Barnhart of Martinsburg, would replace William L. “Bill” Stubblefield, who did not seek re-election after serving one, six-year term.

Mauck was elected to a two-year term in 2010 when the council, formerly known as the Berkeley County Commission, was expanded from three to five elected members. Her term was abbreviated to stagger the new seats that were added.

Berkeley County Council
Elaine C. Mauck, D (i) 20,265
James R. Barnhart, R 18,726
Mark T. Barney, D 16,397
(i) = incumbent
Top 2 win seats
Includes early voting and 66 of 66 precincts reporting

Jefferson County Commission
Jane Tabb, R     12,178
Frances B. Morgan, D (i) 8,905
(i) = incumbent
Includes early voting and 32 of 32 precincts reporting

The Herald-Mail Articles