Rotary Club of Hagerstown-Sunrise honors members

September 12, 2012
  • Rotary Club of Hagerstown-Sunrise members who were recognized as Multiple Paul Harris Fellows are, from left, Curt Miller, T.O. Moore and Jeanne Singer. Receiving his second Paul Harris Fellow also is Bill Fritts, who is not pictured. He is in the photo at top right.
Submitted photo

Rotary Club of Hagerstown-Sunrise named its newest Paul Harris Fellows recently. 

They are Megan Harsh, Donald Harsh, David Jordan, Bryan Kenworthy, Harry Reynolds and Theresa Williamson.

The Paul Harris Society is named after the founder of Rotary International.

The society recognizes friends of the Rotary Foundation who contribute $1,000 or more to the annual programs fund, PolioPlus, and other approved foundation grant activities.

Contributions to the Rotary Foundation support activities in the areas of  peace and conflict prevention/resolution; disease prevention and treatment; water and sanitation; maternal and child health; basic education and literacy; and economic and community development.

The club also recognized members as “Multiple Paul Harris Fellows.”  They are Curt Miller, T.O. Moore and Jeanne Singer.

Receiving his second Paul Harris Fellow was Bill Fritts.

Fritts was also honored by the club recently as it presented him with its Distinguished Service Award.

Club President Al Smith said Fritts served as the club’s 16th president and has been treasurer for the last seven years.

He has trained, and will turn the job over to, the club’s new treasurer, Jodi Blair.

Fritts will continue to serve on the Sunrise Foundation board, and will continue to serve as chairman of the finance committee of the annual auction fundraiser. Fritts can also offer a wealth of knowledge about the inner workings of the club.

Although he is stepping down from his board position, Sunrise-Rotary looks forward to his continued service as an active member of the club.

The Herald-Mail Articles