Women educators group holds state convention in Hagerstown

Alpha Delta Kappa sorority marks 65th anniversary

September 02, 2012
  • From left, Cathy Grantham, state treasurer; Bev Kriner, Sigma Chapter president; Patricia Leonard, Potomac District co-president; and Nina Wells, past Sigma Chapter president.
Submitted photo

Aug. 13 was the 65th anniversary of the day in 1947 when Alpha Delta Kappa international honorary sorority for outstanding women educators was incorporated in Missouri.

Four founders, Agnes Shipman Robertson, Marion Southall, Marie Neal and Vattio Poppins, saw the need to recognize and support the professional efforts of outstanding women educators.

Alpha Delta Kappa chapters are now in all 50 states, Jamaica, Mexico, Australia, Canada and Puerto Rico.
There are 18 active chapters in Maryland.

Sigma Chapter in Washington County was founded Feb. 21, 1976, by Maryland State President Louise Cooper, Maryland State Membership Chairwoman Mary Agnes Law and Patricia Leonard, Sigma charter president.

All Maryland chapters were represented recently at the annual state convention at the Hagerstown Ramada Plaza Hotel.

Co-chairwomen for the event were Cathy Grantham and MaryAnn Kriner, members of Sigma Chapter in Hagerstown.

Anne Creveling, Alpha Delta Kappa state president, presided over the three-day convention.

Highlights of the convention included: breakout workshops; Saturday luncheon with entertainment by Salem Youth; Sunday breakfast speaker Michelle Shearer, 2011 national teacher of the year; and monetary contributions to Children’s Village of Washington County, state convention project and to Salem School, state altruistic project.


Maryland State Alpha Delta Kappa officers for 2012-14 biennium were installed by Sandy Wolfe, international vice president of the Southeast Region and Florence Bishop, international executive board member.

Shirley Upchurch, Alpha Alpha Chapter, was elected Maryland state president. Sigma officers installed included: Sharon Chirgott, secretary; Grantham, treasurer; and Leonard, Potomac District co-president.
In addition, the Southeast Regional Conference was held July 22 to 25 at the Williamsburg (Va.) Lodge and Conference Center.

Sigma members Grantham; Beverly Kriner, Sigma president; Leonard; and Nina Wells, past Sigma president, joined members from 10 states to “gather together to celebrate 65 years of sisterhood” for Alpha Delta Kappa.

The Herald-Mail Articles