Saint James School announces award winners

July 29, 2012

ST. JAMES — Saint James School in Hagerstown announced the following awards for the Class of 2012:

Taha Afridi of Hagerstown (Hood College)

Anna Beckett of Shepherdstown, W.Va. (Savannah College of Art and Design), Prize for Excellence in Art

Brady Burker of Sharpsburg (Penn State Mont Alto)

Andrew Collins of Waynesboro, Pa., (Earlham College), the Bowman-Byron Fine Arts Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts; the Centennial Prize, given to the student who has made an outstanding contribution to the immediate general welfare of the school

Hussein Faridi of Hagerstown (Washington and Jefferson College), the A. Smith Bowman Prize for exemplifying the qualities of a gentleman

Alyssa Glass of Chambersburg, Pa., (College of William & Mary, gymnastics scholarship), the Prize for Excellence in Modern European History; the G. Dudley Acker Award, given to the student who has overcome adversity and has achieved a measure of success

Hannah Itell of Williamsport (Davidson College), cum laude; the Prize for Excellence in English; the Multum Profecit Prize, given to the student with broad interests and with participation in a wide range of activities with commendable success; the Trustees’ Prize for Scholarship, given to the student in recognition of the highest achievement in the Upper School maintained over a two-year period

Michael Knable of Hagerstown (Carnegie Mellon University), cum laude; the Prize for Excellence in Physics

Ashley Leslie of Shepherdstown (West Virginia University), cum laude; the Prize for Excellence in Spanish; the Farah Science Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Science

Ben Louderback of Hagerstown (University of Georgia), the Onderdonk Headmasters’ Prize, given to the member who has served the wider community beyond Saint James and the school’s expectation or requirement

Emmett Orfan of Hagerstown (University of Delaware), the Mary Latrobe Onderdonk Memorial Prize for Sound School Citizenship

Carrie Spicher of Hagerstown (Elon University)

Jordan Wills of Hagerstown (Cabrini College)

Sterling Xie of Shepherds-town (Hamilton College, N.Y.), Henry Kyd Douglas Prize for English Composition

The Herald-Mail Articles