Korean War Veterans Chapter 312 holds meeting to elect new officers

July 25, 2012
  • Those pictured are, seated, Jim Mobley, treasurer; Ron Twenty, second vice commander; Les Bishop, commander; Pat Patterson, vice commander; and Dr. Bud Johns, chaplain. Standing, Clayton Burkholder, historian; John Koontz Sr., executive committee representative; Carl Paylor, judge advocate; Charlie Morris, secretary; and Dick Sayles, sergeant-at-arms.
Submitted photos

At its annual meeting in early July, Antietam Chapter 312 of the Korean War Veterans Association elected its new officers for the 2012-13 year.

The new officers were installed by Korean War Veterans National Director Lew Ewing of Winchester, Va.

The new officers are Les Bishop, commander; Pat Patterson, vice commander; Ron Twenty, second vice commander; Charlie Morris, secretary; Jim Mobley, treasurer;  Carl Paylor, judge advocate; Dr. Bud Johns, chaplain; Dick Sayles, sergeant-at-arms; and Clayton Burkholder, historian.

In addition, John Koontz Sr. and Don Smith were appointed to serve as representatives of the membership on the chapter’s executive committee.

The meeting was well-attended by local members, as well as Korean War veterans from Frederick, Md., and Winchester.

The session began with snacks and a social hour for veterans to mingle and swap stories before the regular meeting began. In addition to the election and installation of officers, the business meeting included the presentation of a Past Commanders’ plaque to outgoing Commander Jim Ensminger, and a thank-you plaque to Don Smith, who served as the chapter’s treasurer for five years.


Antietam Chapter 312 meets the first Wednesday of every month at 11 a.m. at Funkstown American Legion Post 211. Anyone interested in membership or the chapter’s activities should call Bishop at 240-420-3755.

The eligibility for being a Korean War veteran or Korean service veteran is any one who served in the military anywhere in the world between June 25, 1950 to Jan. 31, 1955, or anyone who served in Korea from Feb. 1, 1955 to present.

The Herald-Mail Articles