PONY-14 sectional: Hagerstown 'A' earns berth in championship round

July 22, 2012|By JACK HILL III | Staff Correspondent

Hagerstown ‘A’ advanced to the championship round of the PONY-14 Section Tournament by getting a 13-6 win over Chambersburg on Sunday afternoon in the winners’ bracket final.

Now Hagerstown ‘A’ has to beat Chambersburg one more time Monday to win the title, after Chambersburg defeated Hagerstown ‘B’ 14-6 on Sunday night in the losers’ bracket final.

The championship round of the double-elimination tournament starts Monday at 6 p.m. at Funkhouser Park. If Hagerstown ‘A’ beats Chambersburg, it will clinch the tournament title. If it loses, there will be another game played immediately after that to determine the tournament champion.

“I am proud of them,” Hagerstown ‘A’ manager John Phillips said. “We are starting to come together and reach our potential. I have got 15 kids that are capable of hitting the ball. I can put any of them in there at any time. They hit the ball well. They also listen and react well.”

Trent Rider was the winning pitcher, while Myles Gayman gave up only one run in 2 2/3 innings of relief.

Hagerstown ‘A’ scored three runs in the top of the first. Ryan Brown led off with a walk and Myles Gayman singled to right. One out later, Cody Hammond walked to load the bases. Justin Smith followed with a two-run double to left, and Hammond scored on a balk.

Chambersburg gradually chipped away to take a 4-3 lead.

Hagerstown ‘A’ then scored five runs in the top of the fifth to take the lead for good at 8-4. Brown led off with a game-tying solo homer to center and Gayman followed with a go-ahead solo homer to right. The other three runs in the inning scored on an RBI single to right by Smith, a throwing error and a wild pitch.

Hagerstown ‘A’ added four more runs in the sixth. Brown led off with a single to right. One out later, Colby Byers clubbed a two-run homer to left. Hammond then singled to center and, another out later, Dalton Stewart whacked a two-run homer to center.

Hagerstown ‘A’ got its last run in the seventh when Logan Taulton scored on a sacrifice fly to left by Byers.

In the next game, Hagerstown ‘B’ eliminated South Adams 15-3 in five innings to move into the losers’ bracket final against Chambersburg.

“I felt that we played a good fundamental game and that we took advantage of certain situations that came up when we were at the plate,” Hagerstown ‘B’ manager Ed Kipe said.

Shuntan Hickman and Colin Osborne combined to pitch a four-hitter for Hagerstown ‘B’ while Matt Shipley had three RBIs and two runs scored, Brady Rohrer had three runs scored and two RBIs and Justin Coyle belted a two-run homer in the victory.

Chambersburg then defeated Hagerstown ‘B’ 14-6 in the losers’ bracket final. Jordan Shaffer had two home runs and four RBIs for Chambersburg, while Kevin Carbaugh had two hits and three RBIs, Mike McCartney had two RBIs and Ian Patterson had two hits in the victory.

Colin Everetts had two hits for Hagerstown ‘B’ while Robert Carr and Osborne each had two RBIs in the loss.

The Herald-Mail Articles