Knights of Columbus officers sworn in

July 22, 2012
  • An installation Mass was held July 15 to install the new officers of Knights of Columbus, Pangborn Council 1365 in Hagerstown.
Submitted photo

On July 15, Knights of Columbus, Pangborn Council 1365 celebrated an installation Mass for its new officers for 2012-13.

The newly elected officers are grand knight, John Navarro; chaplain, the Rev. John Jicha; deputy grand knight, Celestine Shannon; chancellor, Gregory Hannigan; recorder, John Streifel; financial secretary, Fred Nugent; treasurer, Herman Niedzielski; advocate, Chris Reibsome; warden, John Danko; guards, Kent Niedzielski and Glen King; and board of trustees, Joseph Ceci, Robert Bastian and Jon Fowler.

Navarro has been a member of the Knights of Columbus for 16 years, has served as deputy grand knight and is a resident of Boonsboro. 

With more than 1.7 million members, the Knights of Columbus is the world’s largest Catholic lay organization. It provides members and their families with volunteer opportunities in service to the Catholic Church, the community, families and young people. In 2011, the Knights of Columbus at all levels of the organization raised and distributed $158 million to charity and rendered 70 million hours of volunteer service. 


Nationally, Knights are involved in a large number of service projects that range from programs with well-known groups such as Habitat for Humanity and Special Olympics to smaller-scale initiatives that have a large impact on the community. 

Locally, the Pangborn Council supports volunteer organizations such as Hospice, Cub Scout Pack 108, Potomac Center, Villa Maria and organized blood drives.

Youth-centered events are sponsored by the council for Halloween, Christmas, Easter and its annual soccer shootout.

The Pangborn Council supports those studying for the priesthood and religious life, and members also support the projects of local Catholic churches and distribute money for the needy through the churches.

The ladies auxiliary has earned money to assist in local educational scholarships and supports the Knights’ functions. 

The newly elected officers are president, Julia Navarro; vice president, Susan Fowler; secretary, April King; treasurer, Dororthy Smith; and chancellor, Ginny Danko.

The council headquarters is at 20340 Leitersburg Pike in Hagerstown. For more information, call the Navarros at 301-739-9019.

The Herald-Mail Articles