County Hall of Fame announces scholarship winners

July 20, 2012

The Washington County Sports Hall of Fame has announced its scholarship winners in advance of its annual dinner and induction ceremonies tonight.

The award winners:

Dylan Dopson, North Hagerstown — Harry L. Cunningham Jr. Male Athlete of the Year

Danielle Harbaugh, Smithsburg — Sara “Skip” Ward Female Athlete of the Year

Shane Fritts, Smithsburg, and David Wilbraham, Boonsboro — Aaron “Major” Steiner Golf Scholarships

Evan Hardy, Williamsport — Carroll I. Reid Scholarship/Sponsor CVAC

Brad Spickler, Smithsburg — Carroll I. Reid Jr. Donation Fund Scholarship

J.R. Lowery, Boonsboro — Carroll Reid/Doug Cochran Scholarship

Andrew Torres, Broadfording — Hugh H. Schindel Family Trust Scholarship

Danielle Langley, South Hagerstown — James F. Binau Sportsmanship Scholarship

Emily Simmons, North Hagerstown — Millie Shank Academic Athletic Scholarship

Brock Heiston, Smithsburg, Vincent Foreman, Hancock, and Charles Owings, North Hagerstown — Robert “Turtle” Smith Baseball Scholarships

Zach Lucas, Williamsport — Nick Adenhart Memorial Scholarship

Scott Hovermale, Clear Spring — Gregg DeLauney President’s Scholarship

Six new members will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the group’s 26th annual banquet at Elks Lodge No. 378 on Robinwood Drive in Hagerstown.

The evening begins with a social hour at 5:30 and dinner at 6:30 followed by the induction ceremonies.

This year’s inductees are Clayton Anders, Harold “Ted” Brumbaugh, Jim Hutson, Jimi Massey, Rick Schultz and Joe Tischer.

The Herald-Mail Articles