Tuesday is deadline for Martinsburg residents to register to vote in June 12 election

May 21, 2012

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. — City of Martinsburg residents have until 5 p.m. Tuesday to register in order to vote in the city’s June 12 municipal election, according to City Recorder Gena L. Long.

Voters can register to vote at the Berkeley County Voters Registration office at 110 W. King St.

If voters are unable to vote at their assigned precinct on Election Day, they may request an absentee ballot or cast their votes early, beginning May 30 at City Hall and continuing through Saturday, June 9, according to Long. Early voting will not be held June 2 and 3. The deadline to apply for an absentee ballot is June 6, Long said.

Early voting will be from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day in the J. Oakley Seibert Council Chambers on the second floor of City Hall at 232 N. Queen St., according to Long. No electioneering, such as having signs on vehicles, is allowed on City Hall property or in the building while early voting is under way, Long said.

Ballots for early voting will available at Long’s office.

The following people have filed for mayor and the seven seats on city council. The winners are elected to four-year terms and are entitled to insurance benefits. The mayor is paid $6,000 annually and council members are paid $2,400 annually.


  • Michael Bochinski, 701 Mill Race Drive
  • George Karos (i), 304 N. Delaware Ave.

Ward 1
  • Travis Bishop, 1025 W. King St.
  • Dennis Etherington (i), 501 S. Georgia Ave.

Ward 2
  • Kevin Knowles, 127 W. South St.
  • Richard L. Yauger (i), 300 Silver Lane No. 517

Ward 3    
  • Max Parkinson (i), 803 Honeysuckle Drive
  • Larry Rogers, 825 Honeysuckle Drive

Ward 4
  • Roger Lewis (i), 518 W. Burke St.
  • Nick Nelson, 325 Carroll St.
  • Stephen Snowden, 312 W. Burke St.

Ward 5
  • Jason Baker, 809 N. High St.
  • Terrence Crim, 1506 Yorktown St.
  • Glenville Twigg, 208 Karla Court
  • Keven Walker, 308 Legion St.

At-large (two seats)
  • Donald Anderson, 505 Edgemont Terrace
  • C. William Hayes, 1006 Candi Court
  • Kevin Santana, 312 E. Liberty St.
  • Gregg Wachtel (i), 605 Foxcroft Ave., Apt. 1D

(i) = incumbent

The Herald-Mail Articles