Weaver wins second straight Speedway opener

April 01, 2012

Pete Weaver picked up where he left off.

The two-time defending Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman champion made a pass on the 11th lap and stormed to an opening night victory on Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway.

Weaver, of Williamsport, won the Favorite Driver Family Night race for the second straight year, this time passing Mike Walls midway through the race and running off to a 1.03-second victory in less-than-ideal conditions.

“I’m usually not good on heavy tracks but tonight it was heavy and I was good,” Weaver said. “I’m not going to complain at all. Winning tonight means a lot. The first time I did was last year and I led the points all year. I hope this is a duplicate of last year.” 

Walls, who started with Weaver on the front row, led the early stages of the race until he was passed on a lap 10 restart.

Elsewhere, Tony Catlett of Hedgesville, W.Va., stayed just ahead of Dave Stouffer Jr. for the entire race before winning the Ernie D’s pure stocks run by a length. And Kenny Thomas, of Greencastle, Pa., held off an early challenge by Gary Proctor to win the D&D Hobby Stock feature by four lengths.

Cory Houck, of McConnellsburg, Pa., won $100 for receiving the most votes as fan favorite in the late model sportsman class. Catlett took the honors in the pure stock division, while Gary Breeden got the nod in the stock class.

Hoosier Tire
Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman
20 Laps
1. Pete Weaver, 2. Mike Walls, 3. Wayne Walls Jr., 4. Donnie Farlling, 5. Cory Houck, 6. Andy Fries, 7. Terry Flaherty, 8. Justin Weaver, 9. Sammy Schaeffer, 10. Devin Frey.
11. Rodney Walls, 12. Paul Cursey, 13. Courtney Shreiner, 14. Chaz Walls, 15. Scott Palmer, 16. Ronnie Dennis, 17. Dave Leidy, 18. Tyler Horst, 19. Kyle Lear, 20. Nick Pappas.
21. Jeff King, 22. Will Rowe, 23. Travis Beaver.
DQ—Rick Hulson. DNQ—Keith Walls, Elwood Sord, Kevin Palmer.
Lap Leaders: Mike Walls 1-10, Pete Weaver, 11-20.

Ernie D’s Pure Stocks
15 Laps
1. Tony Catlett, 2. Dave Stouffer Jr. 3. Kenny Dillon, 4. Kevin Koontz, 5. Brian Miller, 6. Steve Lowery, 7. Wayne Hawbaker, 8. Kevin Boyer, 9. Danny Beaver, 10. Eddie McClellan.
11. Mike Kratovil, 12. Rick Stouffer, 13. Drew Fitzsimmons, 14. Billy Ecton, 15. Chris Ebersole, 16. Craig Kline, 17. Doug Bennett, 18. Keith Koontz, 19. Lloyd Kane.
DNS—Charlie Pensinger, Kenny Day, Dustin Proctor.
Lap Leaders—Dave Stouffer 1-2, Tony Catlett 3-4, Stouffer 5, Catlett 6-20.

D&D Hobby Stocks
15 laps
1. Kenny Thomas, 2. Gary Proctor, 3. Mark Vegh, 4. Nathaniel Younker, 5. Nick Dibella, 6. William Crook, 7. Matt Smith, 8. Dave Shatto, 9. Lane Hessong, 10. Tom Caravello.
DQ—Gary Breeden, Charles Stambaugh. DNS—Joe Rogers, Rick Turner.
Lap Leaders—Kenny Thomas 1-15.

The Herald-Mail Articles