Primaries for local, federal races will be Tuesday

April 01, 2012|By ANDREW SCHOTZ |

WASHINGTON COUNTY — Democrats and Republicans will choose nominees in city and federal races on Tuesday.

Voting will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Primary elections will be held for Maryland’s 6th Congressional District seat and one of its two U.S. Senate seats, as well as for Hagerstown mayor and city council.

Maryland also is holding its Republican presidential primary.

In addition, Democrats and Republicans will choose their delegates to their party conventions later this year. Democrats will select male and female delegates. Republicans will pick delegates and alternate delegates.

President Obama is unopposed on the Democratic presidential ballot.

Newt Gingrich, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Rick Santorum and Fred Karger are competing on the Republican side. Jon Huntsman, Rick Perry and Buddy Roemer also are on the ballot, but have dropped out of the GOP race.

U.S. Rep. Roscoe G. Bartlett is trying to win an 11th term representing the 6th District. He has seven opponents in the Republican primary: state Sen. David R. Brinkley, Del. Kathryn L. Afzali, former Del. Robin Ficker, Joseph T. Krysztoforski, Brandon Orman Rippeon, Robert Coblentz and Peter James.

Five Democrats are competing for their party’s nomination in the 6th District: state Sen. Robert J. Garagiola, John Delaney, Dr. Milad L. Pooran, Charles Bailey and Ron Little.

U.S. Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin has eight opponents in a Democratic primary — Raymond Levi Blagmon, J.P. Cusick, Chris Garner, Ralph Jaffe, state Sen. C. Anthony Muse, Blaine Taylor, Ed Tinus and Lih Young.

Ten Republicans are running for their party’s nomination in the U.S. Senate race: Joseph Alexander, Daniel John Bongino, Robert “BRO” Broadus, William Thomas Capps Jr., Richard J. Douglas, Rick Hoover, David Jones, John B. Kimble, Brian Vaeth and Corrogan R. Vaughn.

In the city of Hagerstown elections, Mayor Robert E. Bruchey II is facing Brian D. Caron for the Republican nomination. David S. Gysberts is the only Democratic mayoral candidate.

The field of six Republicans in the council race will be narrowed to five on Tuesday. The candidates are Larry Bayer, Jonathan R. Burrs, Jeffrey Coney, Chris Kelly, former state Sen. Donald F. Munson and incumbent Forrest W. Easton.

The five Democratic candidates are unopposed for their party’s nominations: former council members Kristin B. Aleshire and Penny Nigh, and incumbents William M. Breichner, Martin E. Brubaker and Lewis C. Metzner.

Washington County has 54 voting precincts.

Three — all at Northern Middle School — are new, accommodating people whose neighborhoods have been annexed into the city, according to Election Director Kaye Robucci.

The general election will be Nov. 6.

The Herald-Mail Articles