Eight Washington County students named Carson Scholars

March 18, 2012

Lindsey Draheim, a fifth-grader at Pangborn Elementary School, was named a first-time scholar in the 2012 Carson Scholars program.

Other students from the county who have been in the program before include:

  • Kaylee Adelsberger, a seventh-grader at Springfield Middle School in Williamsport; three-time winner
  • Jordon Edlund, a 10th-grader at North Hagerstown High School; four-time winner     
  • Elizabeth Hawkins, a ninth-grader at Boonsboro High School; two-time winner     
  • Abigail Jones, an eighth-grader at    Boonsboro Middle School; four-time winner
  • Margaret Manspeaker, an 11th-grader at North Hagerstown High School; four-time winner     
  • Nathaniel Parchment, an 11th-grader at North Hagerstown High School; five-time winner
  • Hope Wolford, a 10th-grader at Williamsport High School; two-time winner

 Each year, the Carson Scholars Fund recognizes a group of high-achieving students in grades four to 11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities.

Students receive a $1,000 college scholarship award and the honor of being named a Carson Scholar.

In addition to the scholarship award, the students will be honored at a recognition banquet Sunday, April 29, at Martin’s West in Woodlawn, Md. 


Longtime television newscaster Sam Donaldson will serve as master of ceremonies.

Honored guests include Lou Dobbs, broadcaster for Fox Business News and William H. Gates Sr., co-chairman of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Ben Carson, who founded the program in 1994 with his wife, Candy, will deliver the keynote speech. The public is invited.

For more information or to purchase tickets, go to

The Herald-Mail Articles