Wolfsville Ruritan to start 55th year of service to community

New officers installed for 2012

accomplishments, donations in 2011 outlined at recent meeting

February 05, 2012

WOLFSVILLE, Md. — The Wolfsville Ruritan Club is about to start its 55th year of service to the community.

The new officers for 2012 were installed at the Cozy Restaurant Dec. 19 by Zone 3 Gov. Paul Spurrier. The officers are: president, Joe Hawkins; vice president, David Fogle; secretary, Bill Price; treasurer, Doug Martin; and three board members, Zene Wolfe, Mary Wiles and Bob Condon.  

The club consists of 44 members, who with the assistance of many volunteers, held 12 fundraisers in 2011. 

The biggest events were two country butcherings and the Catoctin Antique Gas Engine Show. The fundraising events enabled the club to contribute approximately $11,000 back to the community in 2011.

The recipients of the donations included college scholarships awarded to three local high school students; the Ruritan National Foundation; Wolfsville Volunteer Fire Co.; Myersville Volunteer Fire Co.; Smithsburg Community Fire Co.; Smithsburg Emergency Medical Service; Wolfsville Elementary School (field trip and library books); Salem United Methodist Church (food pantry, Hero’s Club and fire victim); Myersville/Wolfsville Lutheran Parish; St. Paul’s Preschool; local vacation Bible schools; Wolfsville/Myersville Athletic Association; Middletown Valley People Helping People; Burkittsville Ruritan Club (fire damage fund); The Salvation Army; Frederick County Soil Conservation District (Envirothon); Frederick County Farm Bureau Safety; San Mar Children’s Home Inc.; Fahrney-Keedy Memorial Home Benevolent Fund; the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society; and Hagerstown Rescue Mission.

The club meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at local Wolfsville churches and Wolfsville Ruritan Park. 

The club welcomes new members and new ideas to help the community and surrounding areas. Those interested are welcome to attend meetings.  

For more information, call Joe Hawkins at 240-818-0006 or Bill Price, membership chairman, at 301-293-4219.

The Herald-Mail Articles