Berkeley and Jefferson County candidates file for state and county offices

January 13, 2012|By MATTHEW UMSTEAD |

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. — The following candidates had filed in Berkeley and Jefferson counties as of 4:30 p.m. Friday for state and county offices on the ballot in the May 8 Democrat and Republican party primary elections.

The last day for candidates to file for elective office in the primaries is Jan. 28:

Berkeley County


  •  Richard Dennis of Martinsburg for assessor.
  •  Larry Hess of Martinsburg for assessor.
  •  Edward "Ed" Wilson of Falling Waters for county council, Potomac District.
  •  Elaine Mauck of Martinsburg for county council, Adam Stephen District.
  •  Thomas W. Weatherholtz, Jr. of Bunker Hill for magistrate.
  •  Betty Jo Hersh (Carpenter) of Falling Waters for magistrate.
  •  John C. Vinson of Inwood for magistrate.

  •  Michael W. Cox II of Bunker Hill for sheriff.
  •  Jim Humphrey of Martinsburg for magistrate (incumbent).
  •  Joy Walls of Gerrardstown for magistrate.
  •  Kenneth R. "Ken" Mattson of Inwood, Falling Waters, for magistrate.

  • James "Ron" Gray of Falling Waters for school board, Potomac District.

Jefferson County

  • Jane Tabb of Kearneysville, W.Va.,  for county commission, Middleway District.

  • Angela L. "Angie" Banks of Shepherdstown for assessor (incumbent).
  • Ralph A. Lorenzetti Jr. of Harpers Ferry for prosecuting attorney (incumbent).
  • William E. "Bill" Senseney of Harpers Ferry for magistrate (incumbent).
  • Gail C. Boober of Charles Town for magistrate (incumbent).

The Herald-Mail Articles