North wins three titles to power to second-place finish in own Hub Cup

January 07, 2012|By ANDREW MASON |
  • North Hagerstown's Brendon Colbert, top, gains control over Urbana's Matt Steinheimer en route to his 8-1 victory in the 120-pound championship match in the 25th annual Hub Cup.
By Colleen McGrath/Staff Photographer

HAGERSTOWN — While winning a Hub Cup title is a major achievement for most wrestlers, it’s especially monumental for those from North Hagerstown.

The host Hubs sent five wrestlers to the championship finals Saturday night and came away with three titles on their way to a second-place team finish at their 25th annual Hub Cup.

Brendon Colbert prevailed at 120 pounds, Kenneth Burrs won at 170 and Dylan Dopson was the champ at 285 for North, while Duncan Yeisley (113) and Amont Hawkins (220) were runners-up.

Two other Washington County wrestlers won titles Saturday — Williamsport’s Zach Shoemaker at 160 and South Hagerstown’s Marquil Holt at 220.

“This is probably my biggest win so far,” said Colbert of his 8-1 victory over Urbana’s Matt Steinheimer in the finals. “Just to be in front of this crowd on one mat is way better than anything else.”

For the second year in a row, Burrs handed South Carroll’s Willie Reiter his first loss of the season, defeating the two-time Maryland 2A-1A state placewinner 4-2 in the finals Saturday.

“I’m really pumped, the most exciting thing I’ve done in my life,” said Burrs, who upset Reiter in last year’s West region semifinals. “I worked all summer for this, all offseason.”

Dopson had the shortest bout of the finals, pinning Mountain Ridge’s Shane Phillips in 1:08.

“Winning the whole thing, that’s as big as it gets here,” said Dopson, who was the only wrestler to go 4-0 with four pins.

However, his victory in the semifinals seemed even bigger. He pinned defending champ Aaron Rowland of rival South Hagerstown in the third period.

“I was real nervous going into that match,” Dopson said, “because Rowland was unbeaten and had beaten most of the tougher kids in the area.”

Colbert, a runner-up at both the Hub Cup and Maryland 2A-1A state tournament last year as a freshman, improved to 18-0 this season with his 4-0 weekend.

“This is a really good first step in keeping my goal of staying undefeated all year,” he said.

While Colbert was in control the entire way in the finals, Steinheimer managed to keep the outcome to a decision.

“That was my closest match so far this year,” Colbert said. “We’ve known each other since we’ve been 8 years old, so we knew what each other was going to do.”

Williamsport’s Shoemaker put on a showcase of offense, reaching the finals with three technical falls and then upending Magruder’s Kamen Barnes 15-3 for the title at 160.

“I just kept wrestling and didn’t stop,” said Shoemaker, who improved to 17-0 this season. “(Barnes) was supposed to be pretty tough, but I just went out and wrestled my match.”

It was the third straight Hub Cup title for the Williamsport senior.

“It’s an incredible feeling because not many people have done it,” Shoemaker said. “I’m definitely excited about that.”

South’s Holt, a Hub Cup runner-up last year, scored four takedowns against North’s Hawkins in the finals to prevail 9-5 at 220 and stay unbeaten at 12-0.

“He’s one hell of a wrestler, I’ll tell you that,” Holt said of Hawkins. “I hope to see him again. It’s a good matchup.”

Holt, a junior, took his title in stride. It wasn’t his first tournament title, and it likely won’t be his last.

“I try to stay humble,” he said. “I just love the sport.”

Urbana, competing in the Hub Cup for the first time, scored 221 points to take the team title. The Hubs finished second (206.5) in the 20-team field — their best finish since winning it all in 2000 — while Waynesboro edged Mountain Ridge 165 to 163.5 for third.

Trey Andree (138) and Jesse Smith (145) won titles for Waynesboro, while Cody Carbaugh (106) placed second for Greencastle-Antrim and Danny Arndt (145) and Cody Spinks (152) were runners-up for Musselman.

Third-place finishers included Musselman’s Kody Kernan (126) and David Stas (160), Boonsboro’s Joseph Minoglio (145), North Hagerstown’s Connor McHose (182), Waynesboro’s Andrew Paterno (220) and Saint James’ Brady Burker (285).

In the finals at 126, Quince Orchard senior Eli Bienstock defeated Mountain Ridge’s Adam Martz 4-1 for his fourth Hub Cup title. He was voted the tournament’s outstanding wrestler.

Hub Cup
at North Hagerstown
Team scores: 1. Urbana 221; 2. North Hagerstown 206.5; 3. Waynesboro 165; 4. Mountain Ridge 163.5; 5. South Carroll 157.5; 6. Catoctin 143; 7. Williamsport 119.5; 8. Musselman 117; 9. Magruder 115; 10. Northern Garrett 109; 11. Boonsboro 95; 12. Brunswick 94; 13. Quince Orchard 85.5; 14. Paint Branch 82; 15. South Hagerstown 78; 16. Annapolis 75.5; 17. Saint James 52; 18. Greencastle-Antrim 30; 19. Thomas Johnson 14; 20. Silver Oak 0.
Championship finals
106 — Morgan Way (Urb) d. Cody Carbaugh (GA) 7-5; 113 — Tim Nordan (Cat) d. Duncan Yeisley (NH) 2-1; 120 — Brendon Colbert (NH) d. Matt Steinheimer (Urb) 8-1; 126 — Eli Bienstock (QO) d. Adam Martz (MR) 4-1; 132 — Nick Frank (Urb) d. Cody Osselburn (NG) 4-0; 138 — Trey Andree (Way) m.d. Andrew Conine (Mag) 11-2; 145 — Jesse Smith (Way) d. Danny Arndt (Mus) 6-1; 152 — Collin Schildt (Cat) d. Cody Spinks (Mus) 8-5; 160 — Zach Shoemaker (Wil) m.d. Kamen Barnes (Mag) 15-3; 170 — Kenneth Burrs (NH) d. Willie Reiter (SC) 4-2; 182 — Joe Rimel (Ur) d. Steven Schmitz (SC) 8-1; 195 — Jason Wright (MR) p. Jameel Shums-Ward (Ann) 2:13; 220 — Marquil Holt (SH) d. Amont Hawkins (NH) 9-5; 285 — Dylan Dopson (NH) p. Shane Phillips (MR) 1:08.
Consolation finals for third place
106 — Cody Matthews (MR) d. Aaron Laymen (Way) 2-1; 113 — Jimmy Allen (Urb) d.q. Todd Williams (Mus); 120 — Justin Opel (NG) m.d. Colby Mowen (Way) 10-2; 126 — Kody Kernan (Mus) d. Charles Perella (Cat) 5-1; 132 — Stanley Proctor (Ann) inj. def. Tyler Warner (Way); 138 — Travis Bartholomew (Bru) m.d. Patrick Guilday (Cat) 8-0; 145 — Joseph Minoglio (Boo) p. George Martin (MR) 1:36; 152 — Alec Stavish (SC) p. Sean Kemp (NG) 2:05; 160 — David Stas (Mus) d. Jake Pooton (SC) 4-0; 170 — Cammeron Mayberry (Mag) p. Taylor Van Meers (PB) 4:50; 182 — Connor McHose (NH) d. Chris Collins (SH) 3-2; 195 — Garrett Smith (PB) m.d. Jason Conner (Urb) 9-1; 220 — Andrew Paterno (Way) d. Mike Wannebo (Ann) 3-1; 285 — Brady Burker (SJ) p. Jake Fisher (Bru) 2:19.
Consolation finals for fifth place
106 — Garrett Buckley (Cat) m.d. P.J. Dolan (Mus) 13-1; 113 — Kenyon Cuka (Way) t.f. Jacob Taylor (MR) 2:17; 120 — Dalton Hawkins (Boo) fft. Zac McGee (Mus); 126 — Isaac Swink  (Way) m.d. Sean Connelly (SC) 11-1; 132 — Collin Plumley (SC) d. Jensen Foster (Bru) 2-0; 138 — Sam Willingham (SC) d. Killian Baker (Wil) 6-2; 145 — Wade Slatniske (SC) p. Ryan Hartsock (NH) 4:37; 152 — Phil Shifflett (MR) p. Davon Clark (Boo) 2:55; 160 — Malik Kelly (PB) m.d. Evan Deckers (MR) 14-6; 170 — Mike Virnelson (Urb) m.d. Chad Cockerham (Bru) 17-4; 182 — Tyler Dykes (Mag) p. Adam Fitzwater (Bru) 2:03; 195 — Matt Jones (Bru) p. Austin Lease (NG) 3:22; 220 — Connor Tilton (QO) p. Zack Meyers (NG) 2:25; 285 — Zach Nalley (Wil) fft. Aaron Rowland (SH).

The Herald-Mail Articles