Hardy, Wildcats don't mind silver

November 12, 2011|By ANDREW MASON |
  • Williamsport's Evan Hardy (1139) prepares to lead the pack behind in the Class 2A boys race Saturday at the Maryland State Cross Country Championships.
By Joe Crocetta/Staff Photographer

PARKTON, Md. — Every second counts in the sport of cross country, and Saturday was a big day of seconds for Washington County boys at the Maryland state championships at Hereford High School — in more ways than one.

Senior Evan Hardy placed second in the Class 2A race, leading Williamsport to a second-place team finish, while Smithsburg junior Luke Daigneault finished second in Class 1A.

“I’m really disappointed that I didn’t win,” Hardy said. “But I’d take second any day as long as the team got second instead of third or fourth.”

The Williamsport boys, who haven’t won a team title at states since 1975, hadn’t placed as high as second since 1978.

Winters Mill cruised to its third straight 2A team title, scoring 61 points, while Williamsport held off Poolesville 110-121 for second in the field of 20.

“Winters Mill has a great team. They’re just really tough,” Williamsport coach Randy Buchman said. “Getting second is the best we could have hoped to do this year.

“I definitely pushed the boys to the edge. Sometimes in the past, I wasn’t sure if I pushed enough. But this year, I feel like I got all that I could get.”

Hardy, the state runner-up in 1A last year, wanted more for himself this year.

Two miles into the hilly 3-mile race, he was in the lead, slightly ahead of Rising Sun’s Austin McGinley.

“I wasn’t looking back much, but I knew he was right behind me the whole time,” Hardy said. “I figured I’d make a move and leave him behind, but it just didn’t happen. He made a move on me, and I just didn’t have an answer.”

McGinley won the race in 16:20.9.

“He earned it,” said Hardy, who finished next in 16:34.7.

“You would think 16:34 would win that race,” Buchman said. “But that other kid just had a great, great race. There’s nothing to be ashamed of.”

Williamsport also got a medal-winning (top-25) finish from Cody Bowman (13th, 17:36.2), while Cody Grams (31st, 18:17.6), Clayton Smith (35th, 18:20.2) and Caleb Buchman (46th, 18:36.7) completed the Wildcats’ scoring.

“The whole team’s happy,” Hardy said. “We came home with second, and that’s something to be proud of.”

Bohemia Manor’s Ryan Pfarr ran away from the field in the 1A boys race, winning in 17:14.8 to lead his team to the title.

“Today, he was just the better runner,” said Smithsburg’s Daigneault, who kicked past Mountain Ridge’s Hlynur Andresson in the final yards to earn runner-up honors in 17:44.6.

With a half-mile left, Daigneault looked as though he might have trouble even holding on to the third-place position he was in at the time, as Andresson began to pull away as the pack behind Daigneault was closing.

“I was spent by the end of the second mile,” Daigneault said. “I just had to fight for that sprint at the end. God gave me the strength. I gave it everything I had, and that’s all I can ask for.”

Smithsburg finished seventh in the field of 13 teams, while Boonsboro was eighth.

Sean Snyder (17th, 18:36.7) and Josh Testa (19th, 18:52.0) earned medals for the Warriors.

In Class 3A, the South Hagerstown boys, competing as a team at states for the first time since the 1970s, finished 19th in the field of 24.

Bryan Durboraw finished 32nd in 17:52.9 to lead the Rebels. He had the fourth-best time of the day among all Washington County boys.

Maryland State Championships
at Hereford High School
Winners and Washington County results
Class 1A boys
Teams: 1. Bohemia Manor 65; 7. Smithsburg 140; 8. Boonsboro 141.
Runners: 1. Ryan Pfarr (Bohemia Manor) 17:14.8; 2. Luke Daigneault (Sm) 17:44.6; 17. Sean Snyder (Bo) 18:36.7; 19. Josh Testa (Bo) 18:52.0; 27. Brian Garcia (Sm) 19:11.6; 30. Tom Kersting (Bo) 19:17.7; 37. Marshall Keely (Sm) 19:38.0; 40. Nick Porter (Sm) 19:52.4; 42. Alex Thaggard (Bo) 19:53.9; 44. Michael Lacey (Bo) 20:01.0; 45. Randy Lohman (Bo) 20:01.9; 46. Greg Horning (Sm) 20:01.9; 53. Ethan Allnut (Bo) 20:24.7; 54. Alex Redenbo (Sm) 20:45.5; 69. Dan Pastwa (Sm) 21:55.7.

Class 2A boys
Teams: 1. Winters Mill 61; 2. Williamsport 110.
Runners: 1. Austin McGinley (Rising Sun) 16:20.9; 2. Evan Hardy (Wi) 16:34.7; 13. Cody Bowman (Wi) 17:36.2; 31. Cody Grams (Wi) 18:17.6; 35. Clayton Smith (Wi) 18:20.2; 46. Caleb Buchman (Wi) 18:36.7; 47. Austin Schetrompf (Wi) 18:36.9; 85. Scott Long (Wi) 19:32.1.

Class 3A boys
Teams: 1. Hereford 72; 19. South Hagerstown 482.
Runners: 1. Braden Bruning (Linganore) 16:20.8; 32. Bryan Durboraw (SH) 17:52.9; 63. Drew Merrill (SH) 18:36.7; 123. Daniel Hockensmith (SH) 19:33.4; 139. Sean Przywieczerski (SH) 19:54.9; 160. Hunter Hartman (SH) 20:34.3; 175. Andrew Rose (SH) 24:54.9; 176. Joe Pandolfi (SH) 25:37.9.

Class 4A boys
Teams: 1. Walter Johnson 71.
Runners: 1. Scott Sheehan (Walter Johnson) 16:28.5.

The Herald-Mail Articles