Student news

November 09, 2011

OXFORD, Ohio — Sara Hornbeck of Shepherdstown, W.Va., will travel to New York City with the Miami University Marching Band to march in the 2011 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Hornbeck is a freshman at Miami.
Miami’s marching band was selected as one of 10 bands in the nation to participate in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on its 85th anniversary.
The band was chosen from a pool of more than 150 applicants based on its music ability, marching technique and performance skills. The band will join the lineup of performers, Macy’s employees, floats and giant helium character balloons in the iconic holiday celebration Thursday, Nov. 24.
The parade begins at 9 a.m. and airs on NBC.

ITHACA, N.Y. — Chenaya Devine Milbourne, a Berkeley Springs, W.Va., resident, was inducted into Ithaca College’s Oracle Honor Society in November.
Devine Milbourne is a integrated marketing communication major.

WESTMINSTER, Md. — Kimberly Zehner Rytter and Randall Rytter of Frederick, Md., both received alumni college service awards from McDaniel College.
Presented annually during McDaniel’s homecoming, the  awards are presented to graduates who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, devotion and service for the betterment of the McDaniel College Alumni Association.
Kimberly Zehner Rytter and Randall Rytter are both 1997 alumni of Western Maryland (now McDaniel) College. Randall Rytter also received a master’s degree from McDaniel in 2001. Both have individually served on class reunion committees, Young Alumni Committee and the Alumni Association Presidential Task Force. They have participated in the Reunion Weekend Remembrance Ceremony and Class Agent activities.

ELKINS, W.Va. — Millie Omps of Paw Paw, W.Va., portrayed the character, Rachel, in the Davis & Elkins College production of “As It Is in Heaven,” its fall theater production.  
Omps is a theater arts major.
She is the daughter of David and Brenda Omps of Paw Paw.

ELKINS, W.Va. — Davis & Elkins College has released the list of National Society of Leadership and Success executive board members. The society was formed at the beginning of the academic year and has 125 members who have completed leadership training day. Students will have the opportunity to hear lectures from the nation’s leading presenters, receive help discovering and achieving their goals and be part of a community of individuals who help one another succeed.
Rekya-Cordelia Anthony, majoring in political science, has been named social and event planning chairwoman. Anthony is the daughter of Vera Anthony of Charles Town, W.Va.
Darrian Cate, majoring in political science, has been named publicity committee chairman. Cate is the son of Vicki Cate of Frederick, Md.

GETTYSBURG, Pa. — Gettysburg College recognizes students’ academic achievement in high school by awarding merit scholarships. The David Wills Scholarship goes to top-ranking applicants based upon their grade-point average, class rank, and SAT or ACT scores.
The following first-year students were awarded David Wills Scholarships:
Alexandra Turano of Hagerstown
William Cade of Hagerstown
Dakota Unger of Mercersburg, Pa.
Mariah Sprague of Mount Airy, Md.
The Presidential Scholarship goes to top-ranking applicants based upon their grade-point average, class rank, and SAT or ACT scores.
The following first-year students were awarded Presidential Scholarships:
Grace Groover of Frederick, Md.
Aden Lessiak of Mount Airy, Md.
Madeline Ruble of Mount Airy
Isabella Schiro of Hagerstown

To submit news
To submit items for student news to be published in The-Herald Mail, email it to; mail it to Student News, c/o The Herald-Mail, P.O. Box 439 Hagerstown, MD 21741; or fax it to 301-714-0245.

The Herald-Mail Articles