Nominations sought for annual award

November 08, 2011

In each of the past 12 years, The Herald-Mail has celebrated the New Year by selecting a Person of the Year, someone who has had a significant, positive effect on Hagerstown and Washington County and those who live here.

We are preparing to do that again this year, with the selection of the 2011 Person of the Year.

Candidates for the honor are nominated by people in the community. After nominations are in, the Person of the Year is chosen by a group of local residents and Herald-Mail employees.

The winner will be featured in a detailed profile that will be published on the front page of the Jan. 1, 2012, edition of The Herald-Mail.

The Person of the Year is given a crystal bowl and $1,000 to donate to a charity of his or her choice.

Choosing among the nominees is always difficult and anyone who has been involved has found that there are a great many people in this community who donate their time and resources to making life better in Washington County.

Previous winners include the late John Waltersdorf and Mike Callas, Norman Shea, Art Callaham, James G. Pierné, John F. Barr, John R. Hershey Jr., Lois Smith Harrison, Elizabeth Morgan,  Frederick C. Wright III, the late Dr. Dan McDougal and Merle Elliott.

All of them have had one thing in common. They were less concerned with getting public credit for their deeds than they were about getting something accomplished.

One need not be well-known to be nominated for this honor. The only requirements are that the nominees live in Washington County and have done good things for the community.

Please consider suggesting a worthy candidate.

A form is printed on page A7 of today's Herald-Mail, and will be printed again several times before the Nov. 25 deadline. The form also can be completed online at

Nominations must be received by 4 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 25.

The Herald-Mail Articles