4 incumbents, 1 newcomer win Tuscarora School Board seats

November 08, 2011

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. — Four incumbents and one challenger were elected to the Tuscarora School Board on Tuesday, according to complete, but unofficial results from the Franklin County Elections Board.
With all 13 precincts reporting, incumbent Daniel Reeder was leading the pack with 1,352 votes followed by the youngest candidate in the race, Christopher Ardinger, who received 1,203 votes. They were trailed by incumbent Thomas Black with 1,158 votes, incumbent Daryl Hunsberger with 1,120 votes, and current school board President Clifford Smith Jr. with 1,011 votes.

The top five vote-getters won seats on the board.

Political newcomers Cory Putt and David W. Clark Sr. lost their bids for election to four-year terms.

Key issues in the race were budgeting and finances, staffing, and standarized test scores.

— Roxann Miller

Tuscarora School Board
Top 5 win seats

 Dan Reeder (i)               1,352
Clifford A. Smith Jr. (i)
Christopher Ardinger
Thomas C. Black (i)
Daryl Hunsberger (i)
David W. Clark Sr.


Cory Putt                          542
With 13 of 13 precincts reporting

The Herald-Mail Articles