Newcomer, Daywalt win seats on Waynesboro School Board

November 08, 2011|By JENNIFER FITCH |

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. — Ashley M. Newcomer and Rita L. Daywalt, who campaigned together, won Waynesboro Area School Board seats in a hotly contested race in Tuesday's municipal election.

With all five precincts from the region reporting, Newcomer and Daywalt were the unofficial leaders in the three-person field. Gregory S. Ochoa trailed by almost 200 votes.

Voters in Washington Township's five voting precincts cast 674 write-in votes in that race.

The Waynesboro Area School Board elects by regions — the Borough of Waynesboro, Washington Township, and the North End, which includes the Borough of Mont Alto, Quincy Township and South Mountain.

Incumbents Billie Finn and Sherry Cline were running unopposed for their two Borough of Waynesboro seats on the school board.

In complete, but unofficial results from the Franklin County Elections Board, incumbents Firmadge Crutchfield and Ed Wilson were leading over challenger Tammy Black for their North End seats. There were two four-year terms available in that region.

Newcomer, 26, of 8 Eastland Circle, Waynesboro, won both the Democratic and Republican nominations for the seat in May's primary election. She is a registered Republican who is a manager at Citigroup.

"I'm ecstatic. ... I'm incredibly grateful for all the support in the community," Newcomer said.

Daywalt, 43, of 11100 Prices Church Road, Waynesboro, is a registered Democrat who won in May the Republican nomination to appear on ballots.

"We swept, and that's amazing. Now, the real work starts," Daywalt said. "I think major progress will be made now."

Ochoa, 45, of 8461 Oxford Circle, Waynesboro, is a registered Democrat who won his party's nomination in May.

Emilee Eckels Bakner, who was ousted in the primary election, ran a write-in campaign for a Washington Township seat.


Waynesboro Area School Board

Washington Township seats
Top 2 win seats    
Ashley M. Newcomer     1,152
Rita Daywalt      1,081
Gregory Ochoa    887
With 5 of 5 precincts reporting

North End seats
Top 2 win seats
Ed Wilson     661
Firmadge Crutchfield    609
Tammy Black     348
With all precincts reporting

The Herald-Mail Articles