Pa. voters face many choices Tuesday

November 06, 2011|By JENNIFER FITCH |

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. — Voters across Pennsylvania will be choosing county commissioners, borough council members, township supervisors, magisterial district judges and school board directors in Tuesday’s municipal election.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the election that could significantly change the makeup of some Franklin County, Pa., local government boards. Turnout in the primary election was 21 percent.

Voters headed to the polls will each receive two paper ballots, one of which will have the majority of offices and the other that will address judges in higher courts.

“This is a separate ballot, which is what we call a judicial retention ballot,” said Jean Byers, deputy chief clerk for Franklin County.

That ballot will ask whether judges in commonwealth or superior courts should keep their positions.

One of Franklin County’s 75 voting precincts has a new polling place. Voters in Chambersburg 5-2, who previously voted at the Knights of Columbus, now will vote at the First Baptist Church on South Coldbrook Avenue.

Voters will be choosing among four candidates to determine who will be the three Franklin County Commissioners for the next four years. Incumbents David S. Keller, Republican; Bob Thomas, Republican; and Robert Ziobrowski, Democrat, are all running for re-election, but they are joined by a challenger, Democrat Garry Gontz.

One of the most hotly contested races in Franklin County is that for the Waynesboro Area School Board, which elects by regions.

Although the two incumbents from the Borough of Waynesboro region are running unopposed, there are races in the Washington Township and North End regions.

In Washington Township, three people are running for two four-year terms. They are Ashley M. Newcomer, a Republican who appears on ballots as Republican/Democratic; Rita L. Daywalt, a Democrat who appears on ballots as a Republican; and Gregory S. Ochoa, a Democrat. Ochoa served on the board in 2009 for nearly one year after being appointed to the position.

The North End includes Quincy Township, the Borough of Mont Alto and part of South Mountain. Incumbent board members Ed Wilson (Republican, appears as Republican/Democrat) and Firmadge Crutchfield (Republican) are running for re-election, but they face challenger Tammy Black, a Republican who appears on ballots as a Democrat.

The Chambersburg Area School Board has a contested race in its Region Five, while the Chambersburg Borough Council has a two-man race in its Fifth Ward.

The Greencastle-Antrim School Board, which does not elect by region, has seven people running for five positions. They are Republicans Eric Holtzman (incumbent), Melinda E. Cordell (incumbent), Tracy L. Baer, Ken Haines and Linda K. Farley; Democrat Paul Politis (incumbent); and Independent Michael Still.

Holtzman, Baer and Cordell are appearing on ballots as Republicans and Democrats. Haines and Still appear as Republicans. Farley and Politis are listed as Democrats.

Four people are running for three seats on the Greencastle Borough Council. They are Frank Webster Jr., Republican; H. Duane Kinzer, Republican, incumbent; James Farley, Republican, incumbent; and Wade G. Burkholder, Democrat.

The Tuscarora School Board has seven people running for five seats. They are Republicans Christopher Ardinger, Thomas C. Black (incumbent), David W. Clark Sr., Daryl Hunsberger (incumbent), Cory Putt, Dan Reeder (incumbent) and Clifford A. Smith Jr. (incumbent).

Reeder, Ardinger and Black appear as Republicans/Democrats on the ballots, while Hunsberger and Smith appear as Republicans. Putt and Clark are listed as Democrats.

The Herald-Mail Articles