Six Washington Co. Fire Police members named as officers

September 21, 2011|By HEATHER KEELS |

Six members of the Washington County Fire Police were named as officers Wednesday evening at a ceremony in Boonsboro, Washington County Sheriff Douglas W. Mullendore said.

Previously, all fire police members had the same rank, Mullendore said.

"They're about 60 strong now, and to assist with response and incident command, we decided it was time to kind of move that organization into the future," he said.

Under the new structure, the county is divided into an east district and a west district, which will each be supervised by a lieutenant, Mullendore said. Under each lieutenant, there will be two sergeants, each supervising a subdistrict, he said.

Like all fire police members, the officers are volunteers, but they will be responsible for supervising the fire police at incident scenes, traffic-direction details and other assignments, Mullendore said.

Officers will also coordinate the reporting of Length of Service Award Program, or LOSAP, points, he said. LOSAP is a benefit program for volunteer emergency service organization members.

The new fire police officers are:

  • Lt. Doug Snow, west district
  • Lt. Robert Moncreif, east district
  • Sgt. Roger Otzelberger
  • Sgt. Mike Lida
  • Sgt. Dave Irvin Jr.
  • Sgt. John Palmer

The Herald-Mail Articles