Winchester drivers dominate at Hagerstown Speedway

September 18, 2011|By C.J. LOVELACE |
  • Trever Feathers (27) battles with Scott Palmer (86) on his way to winning the Late Model Sportsman race Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.
WRT Speedwerx -- Walls

HAGERSTOWN — Three Winchester, Va., drivers joined the ranks of Hagerstown Speedway winners at Saturday night’s fifth annual Small Car Nationals.

Treaver Feathers of the Late Model Sportsman division, Mike Corbin in the Pure Stocks and 4-Cylinder driver Tommy Whitt, along with Hobby Stock Cruiser winner Gary Proctor of Big Pool, Md., all claimed their first-ever Hagerstown victories at the event.

Feathers’ car got faster as the 30-lap Late Model Sportsman feature progressed, ultimately overtaking Mike Walls for the lead on Lap 22 and holding off the late charges of Scott Palmer to claim the $2,000 top prize.

“This means a lot to me right here,” Feathers said. “I have (a feature winner sticker) in my room, but it’s from Rick Eckert. He gave it to me when he won at a Sunday race here and now I have one of my own.”

Palmer finished second, followed by Walls, Andy Fries and Andy Anderson in the top five. Marvin Winters, Tyler Armstrong, Glenn Elliott, Pete Weaver and Matt Parks made up the top 10.

Armstrong set the fast time during qualifying at 19.574 seconds Friday and also won his heat race. Other heat winners were Winters, Fries and Anderson. Weaver, Hagerstown’s 2011 division track champion, had to win the consolation race to make the feature before working his way to a nice finish.

In the 25-lap Pure Stock feature, Corbin made quick work of the field and early leader Eddie McClellan as he took the lead on the eighth circuit and never looked back to get the win.

“This is the capitol; you can’t beat it,” said Corbin, who set a track record time of 23.1 seconds in qualifying. “Anybody who’s anybody wins here. We had a hell of a group of Pure Stocks tonight. The competition was really tough.”

Corbin battled with runner-up Bill Henney for a few laps, but was able to pull away on several restarts due to late-race cautions, including a yellow for Steve Lowery on the 15th lap when his car went up in flames on the backstretch. He was unharmed.

Brian Duffey finished third, Doug Hoffman was fourth and Mike Franklin was fifth. Hagerstown’s Mike Warrenfeltz, who leads in all-time division wins at the speedway, was the first local driver to take the checkered, finishing in sixth. Doug Bennett, Brian Miller, Brian Luttrell and Bryan Kerns made up the top 10.

Heat race winners were Corbin, McClellan, Franklin and Rick Stouffer. Bennett and Dave Stouffer Jr. won the consolation races.

Whitt came from his sixth-starting spot and got by Ryan Lane on the sixth lap before pulling away to almost a straightaway lead late in the race. A caution on Lap 12 bunched the field back up, but Whitt again drove off to score the 15-lap victory.

“These 4-cylinders are just as fast as a lot of other cars,” Whitt said. “We don’t have the V8s, but we turn some fast lap times here. As far as Hagerstown goes, this is probably the best track I’ve ever raced at. I’ve been here three years in a row. I finished second every year, and I’m getting tired to finishing second so this year I came in and proved a point, I guess.”

Richard Gwizdale was second, followed by Lane, Stacy Crider and Kevin Thomas in third, fourth and fifth. Mark Diggs, Scott McCarty, Larry Fuchs, Gary DeHart and Leroy Long made up the top 10.

Heat race winners were Gwizdale, Diggs, Hunter Crane and Randy Linaburg. Ed Gageby and Austin Kirby claimed the two consolation races.

Capping the event’s card, Proctor outlasted Kenny Thomas and “Krazy” Kenny Thomas in a fierce battle for the lead over the final four laps to win his 20-lap feature.

Proctor made contact with both Thomas drivers coming out of the third and fourth turns, even nudging “Krazy” Kenny into the wall as they came out to take the white flag.

“I hate to win a race like that, getting into Kenny there, but it was hard racing and I finally did it,” said Proctor, who snapped “Krazy” Kenny Thomas’ four-race winning streak in the division. “I’ve got to thank my whole family, my friends. They help me keep this car up front every week.”

Kenny Thomas finished second and “Krazy” Kenny Thomas finished ninth after a flat tire, most likely due to his contact with the outside wall. William Crook finished third, followed by Danny Holmes and Nick DiBella in fourth and fifth.

Afterward, the track hosted a “powder puff” race for drivers’ wives and family members, as well as a demolition derby to cap events at the track until the Octoberfest 350 arrives on Oct. 29-30.

John Pittman of McConnellsburg, Pa., was the winner of the demo derby.

The Herald-Mail Articles