Business Briefs - July 31

July 31, 2011

Mr. Fix It

Founder and President Randy Franklin announced that Mr. Fix It will contribute $1,000 to the Hagerstown Youth Football and Athletic Association to become a major sponsor of the Jr. Hubs and Jr. Rebels youth football teams for the 2011 football season.  

This year’s football season marks HYFAA’s first year in the Mountain Valley Youth Football League, and the first year the Jr. Hubs and Jr. Rebels will compete against teams from Frederick and Carroll counties in Maryland.

Loyalton of Hagerstown/Emeritus at Hagerstown

Loyalton of Hagerstown, a senior living community, is operating under the new name of Emeritus at Hagerstown.

Loyalton of Hagerstown, which is managed by Emeritus Senior Living, chose to make this change to reflect the Emeritus corporate brand name.

Emeritus at Hagerstown, which is at 20009 Rosebank Way in Hagerstown, provides assisted living and Alzheimer’s care services to seniors. The community features 98 resident apartments, including studio, one- bedroom and two-bedroom floor plans. Homemade meals are served restaurant-style, three times a day, in its dining room. Other community amenities and services include a fitness program, scheduled transportation, medication management and a beauty salon/barbershop.

Maryland Economic Development Association

ABERDEEN, Md. — Laurie Boyer, executive director of the Frederick County Office of Economic Development, has been elected president of the Maryland Economic Development Association.

Also named to serve on the Executive Committee of MEDA’s Board of Directors for 2011-12 were:

  • Lawrence F. Twele, newly appointed executive vice president, Howard County Economic Development Authority, who will serve as vice president.
  • Keasha Haythe, director, Dorchester County Economic Development Department, was named secretary.
  • Sean M. Looney, vice president of state government affairs at Comcast, returns as treasurer.  
  • David S. Iannucci, assistant deputy chief administrative officer for economic development and public infrastructure, Prince George’s County, remains on the executive committee as MEDA’s immediate past president.
Others named to MEDA’s 2011-12 board of directors are the chairs and co-chairs of the organization’s five standing committees:
  • John R. Devine, principal, Miles & Stockbridge P.C., and Laura Knickman, assistant vice president public affairs, Verizon Maryland and Washington, D.C., were elected business development chair and co-chair, respectively.
  • Heather Gramm, business development specialist for the city of Frederick Department of Economic Development, and Lynne Benzion, associate director, Rockville Economic Development Inc., were named professional development chair and co-chair.
  • Daniel “Danny” Thompson, executive director of the Somerset County Economic Development Commission, and Anita Jackson, director of economic development, Baltimore Gas & Electric Co., will serve as membership chair and co-chair.
  • Rob Ferree, deputy director, Hagerstown-Washington County Economic Development Commission, and Paige Bethke, director of economic development, Talbot County, will be program development chair and co-chair.
  • Kimberly A. Clark, executive vice president of the city of Baltimore  Development Corp., and Faith Elliott-Rossing, director of Queen Anne’s County Department of Economic Development & Tourism, were elected awards committee chair and co-chair.

Also elected to serve on MEDA’s Board of Directors for 2011-12 were:

  • Rhonda J. Ray, program director in the Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development’s Office of Policy and Government Affairs, will continue to represent MEDA as legislative liaison.
  • Richard J. Morgan, president and chief executive officer of CommerceFirst Bank, was reappointed finance officer.
  • Nicholas P. Lambrow, president of M&T Bank for the Chesapeake Region, will serve as business development officer.

The Herald-Mail Articles