HCC baseball announces signees

July 29, 2011

Thursday, July 28, 2011


Hagerstown Community College baseball coach Scott Jennings has announced nine area high school players that have committed to play for the Hawks in 2012.

Jake Bachtell and Aaron Stoner of North Hagerstown, Drew DeShong of Greencastle, Dylan Eyler and Dylan Ianaro of Smithsburg, Trevor Haupt and Kenny Kitchen of South Hagerstown and Ryan Dominguez and Matt South of Broadfording Christian have all made their commitments.

In addition, former Clear Spring infielder Matt Braithwaite will return to HCC after a year at Towson University, and former Greencastle stars Eric Schanzenbacher (Frances Marion) and Andrew Zeger (Daytona State CC) will transfer to HCC.

“This group, along with some solid additions from out of the area, should keep us very competitive,” said Jennings. “The senior class in Washington County will be very strong next year, as good as I’ve seen in a while.”

Bachtell led North Hagerstown with a .427 batting average and had 32 hits and 27 runs batted in. He is also have a good season for the Funkstown Post 211 American Legion team.

Stoner had a subpar senior season after an All-County year as a junior, but has recently found his form pitching for Funkstown. He hit .271 for North and went 3-3 on the mound.

Haupt hit .321 and Kitchen hit .288 for South. At Smithsburg Eyler hit .304 and was 1-2 pitching while Ianaro hit .239. Dominguez hit .341 and South hit .306 and went 3-2 pitching for Broadfording.


Maryland Senior Tournament

WALDORF, Md. — Talbot defeated Maugansville 11-0 on Wednesday to win the Maryland championship and qualify for the Eastern Regional Tournament in West Deptford, N.J.

No other information was available.

Sharpsburg Blue Gray 7-8

Sharpsburg 14, South Mountain 4

Sharpsburg: J.T. Jansson 3 hits; Gage Suter, Cody Henderson 2 hits each.

South Mountain: Noah Livingston 2 hits; Jayme Routzahn HR.

Clear Spring 8, Halfway 4

Clear Spring: Chris Hose 3 hits; Ethan Barrett, Wyatt Abe, Tanner Harshman 2 hits each.

Halfway: Tyler Crain 3 hits; Devon Martin 2 hits.

Rally At Valley 7-8


Waynesboro 9, Valley 8

Waynesboro: Bryce Shaffer 3 hits; Alex Miller named tournament MVP.

Valley: Frankie Corsi, Cole McKeever, Josh Black 2 hits each.


Washington County Sr. League

Maugansville Ruritan 15, Re/Max 10

Maugansville: Steve Lease, Rick Short, Denny Kendle, Steve Madden 3 hits each; Don Wilson HR.

FOP 23, AJ Construction 7

FOP: Art Overcash HR.

AJ: Frank Emery HR.


Krumpe’s Donut 5K on Aug. 12

The first Krumpe’s Donut Alley Rally 5K Run/Walk will be held Aug. 12 at 7:30 p.m., beginning and ending at Krumpe’s Do-nuts at 912 Maryland Ave. in Hagerstown.

For information, contact Max Krumpe at 301-992-0388 or or go to

The Herald-Mail Articles