Yanos gets his recognition in County Hall of Fame

July 16, 2011|By TIM KOELBLE |

HAGERSTOWN — For 43 years, Larry Yanos was recognizing individuals and groups through the newspaper.

On Saturday evening, it was time for Yanos to be officially recognized.

The former sports editor of The Daily Mail was one of 10 inductees into the Washington County Sports Hall of Fame during ceremonies at Elks Lodge No. 378 in Hagerstown.

Yanos, who became sports editor of The Daily Mail in 1967 at the age of 22 and then retired in 2008, passed away at age 65 in 2010.

He’s never been forgotten.

Rick Schultz, the Hall of Fame historian and friend of Yanos for 50 years, said: “Everyone always thought highly of Larry. Every coach around knew if they needed something in the paper, they could count on Larry.”                                 

Yanos was the youngest of four sisters and one brother. On hand for the induction were his sister Dottie DeGrange, his brother Al, nephews Ron DeGrange, Bill and Steve Byron and coach and friend Al Pansa.

Before he made his entry into sports journalism, Yanos spent many days coaching Little League baseball in Frederick, Md., where he lived and went to school.

“We coached together but on opposite teams, so there was always going to be someone unhappy,” said Al Yanos. “He was a fan of (coach) Vince Lombardi and the Green Bay Packers. He became a believer in discipline.”

As a youngster, Larry Yanos had a goal in mind.

“He wrote in his school yearbook that his main goal was to be a sports reporter,” said Dottie DeGrange. “He was into baseball cards. He was a quiet but popular brother. He was always interested in kids.”

A favorite story of Schultz’s came from a trip to Las Vegas, when the two were riding a golf cart.

“Neither of us had driven one and (Larry) said, ‘I wish I had rosary beads,’” said Schultz. “He was a really good guy and a world-class eater. In Vegas, he’d make a trip to the breakfast buffet four times.”

Among his jottings at The Daily Mail and The Morning Herald, Yanos covered bowling and horse racing.

Also inducted were:

* Lacko Anderson, a three-sport star at Williamsport High School in the 1940s and a member of the Wildcats’ only state champion basketball team.

* Don Ardinger, a baseball, basketball, soccer and track star at Williamsport High School.

* Jim Fahey, who officiated high school football and basketball games for 30 years.

* Richard E. Hawkins Jr., North Hagerstown High School’s male athlete of the year in 1961 and an official in high school and college for 35 years.

* Douglas L. Higgins, part of two Hagerstown Colt League All-Star teams to play in the World Series. He also played at Williamsport High School.

* Dave Kuhn, a three-sport athlete at Hagerstown High School from 1951-54.

* Donald McKinley, a four-year letter winner at Williamsport High School and a professional baseball player for seven years in the Pittsburgh Pirates organization.

* Kevin J. Murphy, who won 281 games as boys basketball coach at Williamsport.

* Al Witt, former wrestling coach at Williamsport High School for 27 years with 201 victories.

“This is a thrill and an honor to be included in this impressive list in the Hall of Fame,” said Murphy. “The (Hall of Fame) has made a positive impact on athletes and their achievements.”

The 2011 induction class brings the all-time county honorees to 125.

“In the 25th year, we have now raised $115,000 for scholarships,” said Hall of Fame president Gregg DeLauney.

Washington County Hall of Fame 2011 Awards

Donald Stoner Coach of the Year

Becky Walter, Boonsboro

John W. Lightner Official of the Year

Roger L. Powers

Youth Service

Linda & Walter Williams

Civic Awards

Charles F. Mades Policeman of the Year

Deputy Alan Matheny

John Hersh Firefighter of the Year

Ernie Truax

Robert ‘Bo’ Myers Educator of the Year

Don Lewis

Greg Slick Volunteers of the Year

Terry Myers

Military Person of the Year

Lance Corporal Maung P. “Samuel” Htaik

Citizen of the Year

Clyde Roberts

Board of Directors Choice Awards

Williamsport — C.J. Ezidinma, Troy Moyers

St. Maria Goretti – Colleen Costello, Meghan Brooks

South Hagerstown — Zachary Kimmel

Grace Academy – Katy Carroll

Hancock — Maureen Leavy

Clear Spring — Megan Crowl

Boonsboro — Bridgette Nitza-Buwala

North Hagerstown — Kelsey Smith

Sara ‘Skip’ Ward Female Athlete of the Year

Sara Rishell, Smithsburg

Harry L. Cunningham Male Athlete of the Year

Coby Gussio, Boonsboro

Aaron ‘Major’ Steiner Male & Female Scholarships

Tyler Brown, Clear Spring

Becky Gossard, North Hagerstown

Carroll I. Reid Jr. Donation Fund Scholarship

Cullan Ganley, Smithsburg

Robert Smith Baseball Scholarships

Joe Lashley, Hancock

Jake Bachtell, North Hagerstown

Ryne Willard, Smithsburg

Hugh Schindel Family Trust Scholarship

Jonelle Jerwick, Smithsburg

Mille Shank Academic Athletic Scholarship

Beth Wagner, North Hagerstown

Gregg DeLauney Presidents Award

Katie Sprecher, Smithsburg

Carroll I. Reid Jr. Scholarship

Brandon Horning, South Hagerstown

Nick Adenhart Memorial Scholarship

Tyson Cline, Williamsport

Connor Arnone, Williamsport

James F. Binau Sportsmanship Scholarship

Tyler Myers, Williamsport

Doug Cochran/Carroll I. Reid Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Taylor Belella, Smithsburg

The Herald-Mail Articles