County Hall of Fame to induct 10 new members

July 08, 2011

The Washington County Sports Hall of Fame will induct 10 new members at its 25th anniversary banquet July 16 at Elks Lodge No. 378 on Robinwood Drive in Hagerstown.

The inductees for 2011 include:

Lacko Anderson: Anderson was a three-sport star at Williamsport High School in the 1940s and a member of the Wildcats’ only state champion basketball team. He played semi-pro soccer and baseball for Williamsport for many years and played two years of professional baseball in the Chicago farm system.

Don Ardinger: Ardinger pitched the first no-hitter in Maryland Little League all-star play. As a junior in 1962 at Williamsport, he set a school record with 33 RBIs, a mark that stood for more than 25 years. In his senior year, he won Class B state titles in the 100- and 200-yard dashes. He also lettered in soccer and basketball. He won Middle Atlantic Conference and NCAA Eastern Regional track titles while at Gettysburg College and earned a spot in the Olympic Qualifying Trials meet in 1965. He was inducted into the Gettysburg Hall of Fame in 1985.

Jim Fahey: After moving to Hagerstown in 1957, Fahey officiated high school football and basketball games for six years. For the next 30 years, he competed in handball tournaments around the world, winning the Irish Invitational in Dublin in 1981, the Masters Doubles National Tournament in Memphis, Tenn., in 1983 and the Old North State Tournament in Wilmington, N.C. He has supported the sport by providing gloves and goggles for player at the Hagerstown YMCA and co-founded a local tournament that has been played for more than 20 years.

Richard E. Hawkins Jr.: Hawkins was the North Hagerstown High School senior male athlete of the year in 1961 and lettered in football, basketball and baseball. He went on to play basketball and baseball at Hagerstown Junior College and was an all-conference selection as a second baseman in 1963. He transferred to Towson, again playing basketball and baseball. As a senior, he made the Mason-Dixon Conference baseball player of the year. He has worked as a basketball official at both the high school and college levels for the last 35 years.

Douglas L. Higgins: Higgins was part of two Hagerstown Colt League All-Star teams to play in the World Series, including the championship team in 1971. He was the starting catcher for Williamsport High School during its undefeated season in 1971 and for Funkstown Legion in 1972 and 1973, when the team won 69 consecutive league games. Higgins was selected MVP of the Hearst-Legion All-Star game. He was selected to the all-conference team at Shepherd College in 1978 and played for the Hagerstown Braves from 1976-86, often leading the team in hits and home runs.

Dave Kuhn: Kuhn was a three-sport athlete (baseball, basketball, track) at Hagerstown High School from 1951-54 and lettered in basketball and baseball for four years at Virginia Tech.

Donald McKinley: McKinley was a four-year letter winner in baseball at Williamsport High School and was a starter on the soccer and basketball teams for two seasons. He was an all-county selection for two years and a Bi-State League pick as a senior, helping the Wildcats win both county and Bi-State basketball championships. He signed a professional baseball contract with the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1964 and played seven years of pro ball as a first baseman and pitcher. He won the MVP award in the Midwest League in 1966 and was later inducted into the Iowa Softball Hall of Fame.

Kevin J. Murphy: Murphy began coaching high school basketball in 1971 after a college career that earned him a place in the Frsotburg State Hall of Fame. In 1972, he became head coach at Hancock High School. In 1977, he moved to Williamsport, where he compiled a 281-199 record and made five trips to the Maryland final four in six years from 1991-96. He was Washington County coach of the year in 1991 and Tri-State coach of the year in 1996. He served as basketball chairman for the MVAL from 1986-97 and was a founder of the Dave Russell Summer Basketball League.

Al Witt: A West Virginia University graduate, Witt was the wrestling coach at Williamsport High School for 27 seasons, retiring in 1990. He compiled a 201-65 record and coached eight state champions. He also coached the first girl to run cross country competitively in Washington County, as well as the first two girls to compete on a high school wrestling team in the county. He was also instrumental in the launches of both the YMCA Junior League Wrestling program and the Wildcat Wrestling Club.

Larry Yanos: Yanos became sports editor of The Daily Mail in 1967 at age 22 and was believed to be the youngest person in Maryland to hold that position. He covered area sports for the Mail and The Morning Herald for 43 years and was best known for his horse racing and bowling coverage. He was also a longtime Little League and youth basketball coach in Frederick.

The Hall of Fame will also honor a number of high school athletes and civic leaders as part of the banquet program. The event begins with a social hour at 5:30, with dinner and the awards program to follow. Tickets are $25 and must be purchased in advance. No tickets will be sold at the door. For information or tickets, contact Rick Schultz at 301-790-3399 or Gregg Delauney at 240-675-1228.

The Herald-Mail Articles