Covert wins again at Hagerstown Speedway

June 25, 2011|By C.J. LOVELACE |

HAGERSTOWN — Jason Covert continued his dominance in Three State Flyers series events at Hagerstown Speedway, running away with the 35-lap fourth annual Red Nininger Memorial on Friday night.

Covert muscled his yellow No. 43A late model by pole-sitter and early leader Alan Sagi to take the lead around the top side of Turns 3 and 4 on Lap 15.

From there, the York Haven, Pa., racer effortlessly picked his way through lapped traffic to easily score his second TSF series win in three events at Hagerstown this season and claim the $3,000 payday.

“I just wanted it more than those guys tonight,” Covert said. “We’ve been working a lot, and Barry and the guys worked their guts out to get this car ready. All the credit goes to them.”

He also is the first repeat winner at Hagerstown this season, having found Victory Lane in the Bonebrake Tribute last month.

Runner-up J.T. Spence also got around Sagi, who finished third, right after Covert nudged his way to the lead, but couldn’t catch the speedy Covert as the laps ticked away.

“Racing (Sagi) is always a pleasure, but I got to the outside of him and I needed to ... take the air off his nose a little bit,” Covert said. “It was probably my fault, but we didn’t crash. We got together and we do have roll cages, seat belts and helmets in these things. We’re not trying to crash, but we are out there racing on the edge every night.”

Jeremy Miller and Jim Bernheisel rounded out the top five.

Last week’s winner, Kyle Lear, came from 18th to post a sixth-place finish. D.J. Myers, Bo Feathers, Marvin Winters and Nick Dickson rounded out the top 10.

Heat race wins for the 42-car field went to Covert, Myers, Spence and Sagi, who also won the eight-lap dash to determine the feature’s first eight starters. Steve Axtell Jr. and Jerry Bard took the B-mains.

In an exciting finish to the night’s undercard, Steve Lowery of Chambersburg, Pa., outdueled Eddie McClellan and Wayne Hawbaker to secure his fourth Pure Stock feature win of the season by about a car-length.

“The guys are really driving well, a lot of good close racing,” Lowery said. “We had a couple lucky breaks there, especially on that last lap, but I enjoy racing with these guys because they race you clean, they’re hard racers; we’re here having fun.”

Hawbaker led the first eight circuits of the 15-lap feature before McClellan, who finished second, and Lowery, the current Pure Stock points leader, turned it into a three-car dash to the checkered flag.

Running three-wide down the backstretch on the final lap, Lowery was able to get the best run off Turn 4 to win it.

“I hope we can keep (winning),” Lowery said. “A lot of guys put a lot of effort in this car. I’m sure everybody else here would like to win, too, but I’ll keep taking them while I can.”

Kenny Dillon finished fourth, followed by Drew Fitzsimmons in fifth. Kevin Koontz, Keith Koontz, Billy Ecton Jr., Dave Gross and Mike Kratovil rounded out the top 10.

The Herald-Mail Articles