Students get technology education awards

June 24, 2011

The 27th annual Awards for Excellence in Career Technology Education were presented last month in a ceremony at South Hagerstown High School.  

Seniors from Washington County Public Schools and Kaplan University received recognition.

The following students were honored for exemplifying the highest standard in their program of study in career technology education:

Academy programs

  •  Academy of Finance — Briana Jones, South Hagerstown
  •  Academy of Teaching Professions — Abigail Hayes, North Hagerstown
  •  Environmental Agricultural Science Academy-Animal Pathway: Brittney D. Morris — Clear Spring
  •  Fire and Rescue Academy — Michael Burgesser, Clear Spring
  •  The Academy of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)-Engineering and Manufacturing Pathway — Colton Keplinger, Williamsport

Agriculture Technology

 General agriculture — Kayla Crampton, Boonsboro; Andrew Drury, Boonsboro; Tyler V. Hendershot, Clear Spring

 Horticulture science — Nicole Fulton, Boonsboro; Bethani A. Jenkins, Clear Spring

 Natural resources — Kyle E. Franks, Clear Spring; Adam Schofield, Boonsboro

Business Education Technology
  •  Administrative services — Jessica Hoffman, Clear Spring; Shanlee Stough, Williamsport; Brittany Whipp, Smithsburg
  •  Business management — Maria Jarvis, Clear Spring; Adelaide White, Boonsboro
  •  Finance and accounting — Emily Bryan, Williamsport; Samar Rababe Williamsport; Sabrina Steven, Hancock; Juliette Wallace, Smithsburg; Robert "Dylan" Wertz, Clear Spring; Adelaide White, Boonsboro

Cooperative Education
  •  Career research and development — Kirsten Eastmanm, North Hagerstown; Giselle Gandaria, North Hagerstown; Lauren A. Springs, Boonsboro; Allen M. Thomas, Boonsboro
  •  Drafting technology — Christopher Keever, Williamsport; Joseph C. Lashley, Hancock; Barry "Bobby" Martin, Boonsboro; Elijah Souders, Hancock

Family and Consumer Science
  •  Child care and guidance management — Whitney Blickenstaff, Clear Spring; Sarah Cook, Williamsport; Ashley Vere, North Hagerstown; Ericka Walker, South Hagerstown
  •  Food and beverage management — Sydney Allen, South Hagerstown; Jordan Casias, South Hagerstown; Shawna Plunkett, North Hagerstown; Matthew Wrenn III, North Hagerstown

Washington County Technical High School trade and industry programs
  •  Sara Angle, criminal justice
  •  Chase Bachtell, multimedia and graphic design
  •  Nicholas Jay Cantner, computer game development and animation
  •  Kady Dominick, pre-civil engineering and architecture (PLTW Academy)
  •  Casey Holmes, graphic communications and printing (PrintED)
  •  Jesse Kinzer, carpentry
  •  Mitchell Leizear, collision repair
  •  Cassandra Miller, cosmetology
  •  Veronica Morris, early childhood professions
  •  Mark Mowen, health occupations
  •  Steven L. Shoemaker Jr., automotive technology
  •  Sam Socks, electrical construction
  •  Kevin Sokol, culinary arts
  •  Mark Sokol, computer repair and networking (Cisco Networking Academy)
  •  Jocelyn Sornson, digital communication
  •  Jacob Swope, environmental horticulture and landscape design
  •  Sarah Tasker, biomedical science (PLTW Academy)

Barr Construction Institute

  •  Corey Lease — Heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) apprenticeship program
  •  Bhavik Patel — plumbing apprenticeship program

The Herald-Mail Articles