Elementary school principal changes among personnel decisions

June 12, 2011|By JULIE E. GREENE |

WASHINGTON COUNTY — The Washington County Board of Education unanimously approved personnel changes Tuesday, including assignments for several elementary school principals.

Ellen L. Hayes, who served as co-principal at Eastern Elementary this past school year, will be principal at the new Ruth Ann Monroe Primary School next school year.

Hayes’ co-principal at Eastern, Nicole L. Paylor, will become principal at Conococheague Elementary next school year.

Eastern’s new principal will be Linda C. Kuczynski, who was assistant principal at Salem Avenue Elementary during the past school year.

Conococheague Principal Ryan A. Hench will become principal at Sharpsburg Elementary. Sharpsburg Principal Kathy Kelsey is retiring.

Sonya Barnes, who started the 2010-11 school year as acting principal at Lincolnshire Elementary, was appointed principal at Lincolnshire for the upcoming school year.

New to the school system are two principals and two assistant principals.

Hope A. Fuss will become principal at Boonsboro Elementary and Catherine M. Poling will be principal at Emma K. Doub School for Integrated Arts & Technology. Doub Principal Betsy Donohue is retiring.

Fuss was most recently a principal at Rancho Romero Elementary School in Alamo, Calif., Human Resources Director Donna Newcomer said. Fuss moved back to the area recently, Newcomer said.

Poling was assistant principal at Tuscarora Elementary School for Frederick County (Md.) Public Schools, Newcomer said.

Raegon B. Clutz Jr. will be assistant principal at Pangborn Elementary and Lynda M. Leon will serve as assistant principal at Salem Avenue Elementary.

Other assistant principal assignments are:

  • Keith O. Allshouse, who moves from Lincolnshire to Bester Elementary
  • Eric A. Meredith, who transfers from Bester to Eastern
  • Timothy J. Aitken, who transfers from Eastern to Lincolnshire

Kristie E. Pearl, who was a coordinator at Winter Street Elementary, will become assistant principal at Williamsport Elementary. A coordinator is equivalent to an assistant principal and is funded by federal Title 1 funds, Newcomer said. Title 1 is a federal program that provides financial assistance to schools and school systems with high numbers or high percentages of children from low-income families, according to the U.S. Department of Education’s website at

Anne M. Hott, who was assistant principal at Williamsport Elementary, will become a coordinator at Monroe Primary.

J. Scott Woods, who was principal at Boonsboro Elementary, will teach sixth-grade math at Western Heights Middle School.

The Herald-Mail Articles