Artists win 50 prizes in annual Franklin County Art Alliance annual show

June 10, 2011

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. ¿ — The Franklin County Art Alliance presented more than $1,000 in awards at its 40th annual exhibition on Sunday, June 5, at Calvary United Methodist Church in Fayetteville, Pa. More than 300 works by 86 artists were judged by Jennifer Chapman Smith and Lauren Ippolito of the Washington County Museum of Fine Arts.
The judges selected works to receive more than 50 awards, including:
Northwood Books Best of Show — Cindy Smith of Waynesboro, Pa.

  • The Hickman Automotive Award for oil still lifes — first place, Cindy Smith of Waynesboro, Pa.
  • The Godfrey Biehl Award for oil landscapes — first place, Cindy Baker of Chambersburg, Pa.
  • The Louise Mowrey Award for watercolor still lifes — first place, Judith Stenger of Chambersburg.
  • The Towne Framing of McConnellsburg Award for watercolor landscape — first place, Charles Brown of Chambersburg.
  • The Phillip Buttermore Award for pastels — first place, Laurie McKelvie of Shippensburg, Pa.
  • The All Occasion Florist Award for florals — first place, Linda Best of Fort Loudon, Pa.
  • The American Frame Award for portraits — first place, Donna Bingaman of Waynesboro.
  • The Best Friends Animal Hospital Award for animal portraits — first place, Dallas Coble of Chambersburg.
  • The Dolbin award for sculpture — first place, Denny Bingaman of Waynesboro.
  • The James Patterson Award — Madeline Gardner of Shippensburg, Pa.
  • The Ralph Snider Award — Samantha Rudy of Greencastle, Pa.
  • The Bill Davis Memorial Award for drawings and hand-pulled prints —
  • first place, Anne Finucane of Chambersburg.
  • The Modern Artisan/NTK Woodwork Award for collage/abstract — first place, Mona Fickes of Shippensburg.
  • Genre — first place, Cindy Baker of Chambersburg.
  • The Pictures Plus Award for photography — first place, Dallas Coble of Chambersburg.
  • The John Heckman Award for students — first place, Alex Swisher of Chambersburg.
 Two donor’s awards were presented, as well: the Skip Shull Memorial Award to Jack Kier of Fayetteville; and the Castlewood Award, to Cindy Smith of Waynesboro.
 For Alliance information and a complete list of winners at the annual exhibition, call Anne Finucane at 717-267-1396.

The Herald-Mail Articles