Serafini will be new Washington County delegation chairman

April 06, 2011|By ANDREW SCHOTZ |
  • After he was chosen as the next Washington County delegation chairman on Wednesday, Del. Andrew A. Serafini, left, talks to Sen. Ronald N. Young, center, and Del. Neil C. Parrott, who will be the next delegation vice chairman.
By Andrew Schotz, Staff Writer

After nearly five legislative sessions as the Washington County delegation's chairman, Del. LeRoy E. Myers is handing control over to Del. Andrew A. Serafini.

On Wednesday, the delegation picked Serafini as the next chairman and Del. Neil C. Parrott as the next vice chairman.

Myers said it's time to let someone else be in charge.

"I think I've tried to do my best," he said during a brief delegation meeting Wednesday morning.

While he was a delegate, Christopher B. Shank, now a senator, was the delegation chairman through 2006. Myers took over in 2007.

Myers, who is in his third term, said he would have given up the position at the beginning of the session, but decided to wait one more year, as three freshmen in the delegation got adjusted to legislative work.

He said he'll remain chairman through sine die, the end of the session, which is Monday night.

The chairman is in charge of setting meetings, representing the delegation, and filing and monitoring bills.

"It takes a lot more time than people think," Myers said, mentioning, in particular, the time spent shepherding bills through committees and both chambers.

Serafini, who was appointed to his delegate seat in 2008, served as the delegation's vice chairman this year.

"I think it is healthy to have a change," he said.

Serafini said he's looking forward to holding the position and plans to rely on Myers, with whom he shares office space, for advice.

Myers, Serafini, Shank, Parrott, Sen. George C. Edwards, Sen. Ronald N. Young and Del. Michael J. Hough voted in favor of the new chairman and vice chairman.

Del. John P. Donoghue did not attend the delegation meeting.

The Herald-Mail Articles