Top-dollar campaign contributions listed

March 14, 2011

In several elections in Washington County this past year, campaign contributions of $1,000 or more were common.

Below are the top dollar amounts contributed in each Washington County Commissioners and state delegate and senator race in the county during the 2010 campaigns, along with each person or group that contributed that amount, according to campaign finance records. Transfers from other candidate accounts are not included.


District 1, state Senate
George C. Edwards (R) (unopposed) — $1,000 by Constellation Energy State PAC of Baltimore; Maryland Energy Resources LLC of Indiana, Pa.; Western Maryland Lumber of Lonaconing, Md.; Health Policy Leadership Alliance of Elkridge, Md.; Mettiki Coal LLC of Lexington, Ky.; Maryland Realtors PAC of Annapolis; Phenix Technologies Inc. of Accident, Md.; Michael Moore of Mt. Lake Park, Md.

District 2, state Senate
Christopher B. Shank (R): $2,500 by Virginia Bowen of Hagerstown
Donald F. Munson (R): $4,000 by Bruce Quinn of Florida

District 3, state Senate
Alex X. Mooney (R): $4,000 by Valeta Massey of Woodside, Calif.; Thurman Rodgers of Woodside, Calif.; Nutramax Laboratories of Edgewood, Md.;
Ronald N. Young (D): $6,000 by SEIU MD/DC State Council PAC in Annapolis; Maryland Trial Lawyers Association PAC in Baltimore; MD State Education Association Fund for Children and Public Education in Annapolis; 1199 SEIU-NYS Political Action Fund in New York

Subdistrict 1C, state delegate
LeRoy E. Myers Jr. (R): $2,700 by Boyd Road Supply of Clear Spring
Ronald Lohr (D) *

Subdistrict 2A, state delegate
Andrew A. Serafini (R): $500 by Thomas Newcomer of Hagerstown; Hagerstown Paint and Glass of Hagerstown; LuAnn Myers of Clear Spring
Neil Becker (D): $500 by MSEA-Fund for Children and Public Education in Annapolis (three times); Denise Fry of Hagerstown

Subdistrict 2B, state delegate
Neil C. Parrott (R): $3,000 by Republican Club of Washington County; The Presidential Coalition LLC in Washington, D.C.
Brien J. Poffenberger (D): $2,000 by Eleanor Wilder of Keedysville

Subdistrict 2C, state delegate
John P. Donoghue (D): $5,000 by MSEA Fund for Children and Public Education in Annapolis
Cort Meinelschmidt (R): $3,000 by Washington County Republican Club

Subdistrict 3B, state delegate
Michael J. Hough (R): $2,400 by Jackson Lewis LLP of White Plains, N.Y.
Paul J. Gilligan (D): $2,000 by Paul Gilligan of Burkittsville

Washington County Commissioners
Kristin B. Aleshire (D) *
John F. Barr (R): $1,000 by John Barr of Clear Spring; Paul Mellott of Hagerstown
Terry Baker (R): $500 by A. Fulton of Hagerstown **
Ruth Anne Callaham (R): $1,000 by Wayne Ridenour of Williamsport; David Rider of Hagerstown; Paul Mellott of Hagerstown; Rider Jet Center of Hagerstown
Jeff Cline (R): $1,000 by AC&T of Hagerstown; Jeff Cline of Williamsport; Jone Bowman of Williamsport
Bill McKinley (R): $1,000 by Kathy Griffith of Marina del Rey, Calif.; David Rider of Hagerstown; Bill McKinley of Williamsport; Rider Jet Center of Hagerstown
Joe Lane (Green): $2,216 by Joe Lane

* submitted affidavits that campaign would raise and spend less than $1,000, so detailed reports weren’t required

** based on two campaign-finance reports; three other reports weren’t available online at the Maryland state elections website

— Andrew Schotz

The Herald-Mail Articles