Seven Washington County students named Carson Scholars

March 14, 2011

Seven Washington County students have been named Carson Scholars for 2011.
The students receive $1,000 scholarships. They will be honored at a recognition banquet Sunday, April 10, at Martin’s West in Woodlawn, Md.
First-time scholar:

  •  Elizabeth Hawkins, eighth grade, Boonsboro Middle School
Repeat scholars:
  •  Kaylee Adelsberger, sixth grade, Springfield Middle School
  •  Jordon Edlund, ninth grade, North Hagerstown High School
  •  Abigail Jones, seventh grade, Boonsboro Middle School
  •  Matthew Koebel, 12th grade, South Hagerstown High School
  •  Margaret Manspeaker, 10th grade, North Hagerstown High School
  •  Nathaniel Parchment, 10th grade, North Hagerstown High School
Longtime newscaster Sam Donaldson will be the master of ceremonies. Pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Benjamin Carson will give the keynote speech.
For more information, go to

The Herald-Mail Articles