List of educators nominated for Teacher of the Year being narrowed to finalists

March 10, 2011

A select group of 33 educators nominated for 2011-12 Washington County Teacher of the Year is being narrowed to a list of finalists.

The finalists will be selected in mid-March, leading up to the announcement of the Teacher of the Year at the annual awards dinner on April 27 at Fountain Head Country Club.

Nominations were received from teachers, students, administrators, parents and other citizens.

A nominee must be a full-time teacher who spends the majority of his or her time teaching students, have a minimum of five years experience and remain in a teaching position during the school following the nomination, according to Maryland State Teacher of the Year guidelines.

The county teacher of the year program is sponsored by the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation, in cooperation with Washington County Public Schools.

Nominees submit essay responses and background information. A panel of judges reviews and scores the nominations before deciding on the finalists.

The judges then continue their review of the finalists, including interviews and classroom visits.

Marjorie Kellman from Washington County Technical High School has represented Washington County as Teacher of the Year for the past year.

The complete list of nominees includes:


  • Lara Amtower, Hancock Middle/Senior High
  • Sally Bacon, Old Forge Elementary
  • Jaclyn Chaney, Fountaindale Elementary
  • Marsha Flowers, Hancock Elementary
  • Allen Haines, Boonsboro Middle
  • Debbie Henry, Hancock Elementary
  • David Herbert, Smithsburg Middle
  • Laura Hose, Hancock Elementary
  • Pearle Howell, Smithsburg Middle
  • Sally Irwin, Washington County Technical High
  • Kimberly Janifer, North Hagerstown High
  • Tina Jenkins, E. Russell Hicks Middle
  • Susan Knable, Hancock Elementary
  • Sue Laird, Eastern Elementary
  • Rossana Larrick, Washington County Technical High
  • Rebecca Leverett,  Rockland Woods Elementary
  • Katharine Long, Western Heights Middle
  • Michael Maginnis, Antietam Academy
  • Stacy Maginnis, Smithsburg Middle
  • Julie McGee, Potomac Heights Elementary
  • Tonya Meadows, Boonsboro Middle
  • Tiffany Miles, Rockland Woods Elementary
  • Gultilsim Newman, Pangborn Elementary
  • Adam Ocasek, Smithsburg Middle
  • Michael Pavlik, Conococheague Elementary
  • Sherry Rhoton, Williamsport High
  • Martha Ridenour, Smithsburg High
  • Lora Roth, Smithsburg Middle
  • Amber Sheffler, South Hagerstown High
  • Ayako Shiga, Boonsboro High
  • Emlynn Shives, Hancock Middle/Senior High
  • Kelly True, Pangborn Elementary
  • Tammy Wilson, Washington County Technical High
The Herald-Mail Articles