Scholarships available through Community Foundation of Washington County

February 21, 2011

The Community Foundation of Washington County has announced that  more than 20 scholarships are available for the 2011-12 academic year through funds at the foundation.

Each of the scholarship funds has unique criteria for applicants.

Interested students should check with their school’s guidance office for applications that might be available to them.  

  • Boonsboro High School — BHS Class of 1970 Scholarship; Joseph M. Ellis Memorial Scholarship; South County Scholarship; Dwight Scott Scholarship
  • Clear Spring High School — Walter W. Peterman CHS Scholarship; George A. Sites CSH Scholarship
  • North Hagerstown High School — Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship
  • Smithsburg High School — Young Scholars Award; Christopher Nicholson Memorial Scholarship
  • South Hagerstown High School — Sherrill Koontz Memorial Scholarship; Coach Ralph Stottlemyer Scholarship; William Maletzky Scholarship
  • Williamsport High School — Officer Christopher Nicholson Memorial Scholarship
  • Washington County Public Schools — Dr. Elizabeth Molina Morgan 2010 National Superintendent of the Year Scholarship
  • All Washington County public, private and home school programs — Ryan Myers Memorial Scholarship

Washington County 4-H clubs also have scholarships available through Foundation funds — 4-H Market Livestock Scholarship Fund; 4-H Dairy Scholarship Fund; Mildred Schmid 4-H Scholarship; Barry McAllister Memorial Scholarship

Additionally, several scholarship funds benefiting students enrolled at University Systems of Maryland at Hagerstown are now available — USMH Scholarship; USMH CITI Scholarship; USMH City of Hagerstown Scholarship; USMH STEM Scholarship; USMH Washington County Scholarship


Scholarship applications are available on the scholarship page of the Community Foundation’s website at

If you do not see an application for a scholarship you are interested in, check your school’s guidance office. For more information, contact Kristy Smith, program manager, at 301-745-5210 or by e-mail at

The Herald-Mail Articles