'Cats dominate county tourney

February 19, 2011|By ANDREW MASON |
  • Williamsport's Bobby Ardinger flexes after defeating North Hagerstown's Carter Baer 8-2 in the 135-pound title match Saturday.
By Kevin G. Gilbert/Staff Photographer

SMITHSBURG — Williamsport outdid itself again at the 21st annual Washington County Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

The Wildcats captured titles in nine of the 14 weight classes — matching the tournament record they set in 1997 — and finished with a record 246 points to win the team championship for the third straight year and ninth time overall.

North Hagerstown, which had three champions, was a distant runner-up with 185 points, while Smithsburg took third (168), Boonsboro finished fourth (140) and South Hagerstown was fifth (104).

“I’m really happy. The guys wrestled great today,” Williamsport coach Mike Rechtorovic said. “This group of kids put a lot of high expectations on themselves, and they’ve worked hard to meet them. ... Thirteen out of 14 placed. That’s how you win a tournament.”

Wildcats senior Kemper Baker pinned Boonsboro’s Joe Minoglio in the second period of their final at 140 pounds to become only the 10th four-time champ in county history.

“It’s pretty big. It definitely ranks right up there with the state title,” said Baker, who was the state champ at 119 as a sophomore. “There’s only been a handful of people who’ve ever done it, and now I’m one of them, so it’s pretty exciting.”

His brother Killian Baker, a junior, will have the chance to match the feat next season. He won at 125 Saturday for his third straight title.

“Hopefully he gets it next year,” Kemper said. “And hopefully my other two brothers (Kobe, 13, and Kamden, 4) end up with four also.”

Williamsport wrestling has become a family affair, as the Bakers were just one of four sets of brothers who competed for the Wildcats on Saturday.

Freshman Bryan Davis (103 pounds) and senior Eric Davis (152) were also both champions, while seniors Bobby Ardinger (135) and Matt Cody (285) both won titles — Cody for a third straight year — to outdo their sophomore brothers. George Ardinger was the runner-up at 130 and Jacob Cody finished third at 171.

“More than half of our varsity lineup are brothers,” Kemper Baker said. “It gets pretty competitive at times with lots of back-and-forth between the older brothers and the younger brothers, but we make it work.”

Junior Zach Shoemaker (145) and seniors Reggie Russ (160) and Chauncey Baylor (215) also won titles for Williamsport — Shoemaker for a third straight year and Russ for a second.

“I’m really happy for Bobby Ardinger, Eric Davis and Chauncey Baylor — seniors who won their first titles today,” Rechtorovic said.

In the toughest weight class, Russ prevailed 5-4 in the finals over two-time county champ Jon Best of Boonsboro. In the semifinals, Best was an 8-5 winner over North’s Kenneth Burrs, who had beaten Best in their previous two meetings this year.

“I was really nervous,” Russ said. “I never wrestled (Best) before, so I didn’t know what he was going to do. Coach told me just to come out here and run through everybody.”

North’s champions were Brendon Colbert (112), Duncan Yeisley (119) and Connor McHose (171).

Smithsburg’s Dillan Harbaugh prevailed at 130, while Boonsboro’s Bucky Miller was the champ at 189.

Washington County Wrestling Tournament
Team scores: 1. Williamsport 246; 2. North Hagerstown 185; 3. Smithsburg 168; 4. Boonsboro 140; 5. South Hagerstown 104.
Championship finals
103 — Davis (Wi) d. Tobery (NH) 6-5, 3OT; 112 — Colbert (NH) p. Anoman (Bo) 2:30; 119 — Yeisley (NH) p. Roberts (Sm) 1:41; 125 — Ki. Baker (Wi) p. Balcita (NH) 2:42; 130 — Harbaugh (Sm) p. G. Ardinger (Wi) 4:33; 135 — B. Ardinger (Wi) d. Baer (NH) 8-2; 140 — Ke. Baker (Wi) p. Minoglio (Bo) 2:38; 145 — Shoemaker (Wi) p. Mutchler (Sm) 1:23; 152 — E. Davis (Wi) d. Scott (Sm) 9-3; 160 — Russ (Wi) d. Best (Bo) 5-4; 171 — McHose (NH) d. Leopold (Sm) 5-2; 189 — Miller (Bo) p. Collins (SH) 3:09; 215 — Baylor (Wi) d. Holt (SH) 6-2; 285 — M. Cody (Wi) d. Rowland (SH) 2-1.
Consolation finals
103 — Lampasona (Sm) p. Stauffer (Bo) 1:50; 112 — Vance (Wi) p. Delauter (Sm) 1:16; 119 — Weyant (Wi) p. Heinrich (SH) :58; 125 — Bowman (Bo) bye; 130 — Wilson (SH) p. Whittington (NH) 4:28; 135 — Wilbraham (Bo) p. Ortega (Sm) 1:32; 140 — Sorensen (Sm) p. Kendall (SH) :44; 145 — Bukhari (SH) p. Hull (Bo) 1:39; 152 — Clark (Bo) fft. Hartsock (NH); 160 — Burrs (NH) p. Condo (Sm) 4:45; 171 — J. Cody (Wi) p. Urama (Bo) 2:15; 189 — Akers (Sm) d. McElfish (NH) 11-4; 215 — Hawkins (NH) p. Michael (Sm) 3:36; 285 — Rosario (NH) p. Carraway (Sm) 4:15.

The Herald-Mail Articles