Washington County Commission briefs

February 17, 2011

Election board changes backed

The Washington County Commissioners voted 4-1 Tuesday to submit a letter of support for a state bill that would change the structure of the Washington County Board of Elections.
Senate Bill 534, sponsored by the county’s delegation to the General Assembly, would expand the number of election supervisors from three to five, with three members from the state majority party and two from the minority party.
 It would also eliminate pay for substitute members, remove the election board from the purview of the Salary Study Commission and move it under the county commissioners’ oversight.
Commissioner John F. Barr voted against the letter of support.

Requests for county video

Washington County officials have received requests for copies of a State of the County video presentation that was shown Feb. 8 at a Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce event, County Administrator Gregory B. Murray said Tuesday.
The video, which he estimated cost about $10,000 to make, will be used for economic development, Leadership Hagerstown classes, the Washington County Board of Education’s search for a new superintendent of schools, county engineering department presentations and by the state of Maryland, Murray said.
“We’re getting a lot of traction out of that and we’ll continue to,” Murray said.
The video is available on the Herald-Mail website and Antietam Cable Video On Demand. It will also be posted on the county website,, county spokesman Norman Bassett said.

County board appointments


The Washington County Commissioners Tuesday approved three appointments to the following boards and commissions:
• Janice Cirincione was appointed to a first, two-year term on the Washington County Gaming Commission, from March 1, 2011 through Feb. 28, 2013.
• Jason Divelbiss was appointed to the PenMar Development Corp. to fulfill an unexpired term through June 30, 2011.
• Sassan Shaool was appointed to the Washington County Planning Commission to fulfill an unexpired term through June 30, 2014.
• Dennis Reeder was appointed to serve a first, five-year term on the planning commission from March 1, 2011 through March 1, 2016.

— Heather Keels
The Herald-Mail Articles