This week in government

February 14, 2011

Agendas for this week's meetings of the Washington County Commissioners, Washington County Board of Education and Hagerstown Mayor and Council:


County Administration Building, Room 226
100 W. Washington St., Hagerstown
Tuesday, Feb. 15, 8:30 a.m.

• 8:35 a.m.: Commissioners’ reports and comments
• 9 a.m.: Capital improvement, draft 1
    (1) Solid waste
    (2) Parks and recreation
    (3) Public safety
    (4) Road improvements
• 10:30 a.m.: Citizens participation
• 10:35 a.m.: City of Hagerstown annexation request State Highway Administration right-of-way
• 10:45 a.m.: City of Hagerstown annexation request Beltways Properties V LLC
• 11 a.m.: FFY 2010 Interoperable Emergency Communications Grant Program (IECGP)
• 11:15 a.m.: Airport director
• noon: Luncheon with The League of Women Voters at Bulls and Bears Restaurant, 38 S. Potomac St., Hagerstown
• 1:15 p.m.: Depart for 100 W. Washington St., Room 227

• 1:30 p.m.: Other business
    (1) County attorney issues
    (2) Appointments to County boards and commissions
    (3) County administrator’s comments
        — SB 534 Washington County Board of Elections membership and compensation discussion


    (4) Reports from County staff

• 1:45 p.m.: Hotel rental tax fund request, Doleman Black Heritage Museum (DBHM)

• 2 p.m.: Closed session (to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, compensation, and/or performance evaluation of appointees, employees or officials over whom it has jurisdiction; to discuss personnel matters that affect one or more specific individuals; and to consult with counsel to obtain legal advice)


Board Auditorium
820 Commonwealth Ave., Hagerstown
Tuesday, Feb. 15, 6 p.m., Channel 99

• 6:05 p.m.: Correspondence to and from the Board
• 6:10 p.m.: Superintendent’s report
    (1) World-class educators and community partners, Habitat for Humanity Women Build Project-Educators’ House, Golden Apple awards presented to Kathy Powderly, Habitat for Humanity director of development; Darlene Teach, retired principal/project coordinator for Women Build Educators’ House; and Kathy Stiles, principal at Rockland Woods Elementary/Women Build Educators’ House Participant
    (2) World-class educators, Golden Apple awards presented to Betsy Donohoe, principal, Emma K. Doub School for Integrated Arts and Technology; Theresa Williamson, principal, Fountaindale School for the Arts and Academic Excellence, for Qualifying for the Maryland Excellence in Gifted and Talented Education (EGATE) School Award; and Clyde Harrell, director of PK-12 curriculum and instruction, for being named Outstanding Educator-School System Administrator by the Maryland State Advisory Council on Gifted and Talented Education.
    (3) World-class school, Golden Apple award presented to Michael Thorsen, principal, Barbara Ingram School for the Arts on behalf of Barbara Ingram School for the Arts receiving the 2011 New and Emerging Arts School Award by the Arts Schools Network.
• 6:40 p.m.: Personnel action
• 6:45 p.m.: Reports to the Board
    (1) Reading interventions, update on K-12 programs
    (2) Board member committee reports
• 7:10 p.m.: Citizen participation
• 7:40 p.m.: New business
    (1) Consideration, early childhood equipment for the Ruth Ann Monroe Primary School
    (2) Consideration, future agenda items and future agenda items list
• 7:50 p.m.: Miscellaneous business
• 7:55 p.m.: Board member comments
• 8 p.m.: Adjournment
    (1) Calendar of activities


City Hall, Second Floor, Council Chamber
1 E. Franklin St., Hagerstown
Tuesday, Feb. 15, 4 p.m.

• 4 p.m.: Work session
    (1) Preliminary agenda review
    (2) Traffic circles in northeast area, improved traffic control
    (3) Improved traffic control, intersection of Columbia Road and Fairchild Avenue
    (4) Join service area request amendment
    (5) Memorandum of understanding with Liberty Towers
    (6) Review of the Police and Fire Retirement Plan
• 5:50 p.m.:
    (1) City Administrator’s comments
    (2) Mayor and Council comments
• 6 p.m.: Executive session
• 6:15 p.m.: Adjourn

Arrangements can be made in advance for people with disabilities who want to attend any of these meetings. For the County Commissioners, call 240-313-2216 (Voice/TDD). For City Council, call Bruce Zimmerman at 301-797-6617 (Voice/TDD).

The Herald-Mail Articles