2011 means town council elections for Charles Town, Harpers Ferry and Bolivar

February 09, 2011|By RICHARD F. BELISLE |

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. — This is the year of biennial town council elections for Charles Town, Harpers Ferry and Bolivar, and all three municipalities have slates filled and ready for voters.

The filing deadline was Jan. 31.

Charles Town voters go to their polls May 26 to pick four of the eight town council members whose four-year-terms expire this year. Terms for Mayor Peggy Smith and four council members run for two more years.

Council members are elected by wards. The mayor runs at large.

Ward One Incumbent Ruth Elizabeth McDaniel wants to hold on to her seat for a second term. Hoping to take it from her is challenger Mark J. Reinhart, a member of the city's planning and historic landmarks commissions.

The first-term incumbent in Ward 2, Marylois Gannon-Miller, is being challenged by Wayne Michael Clark, chairman of the city's building commission.

Ward 3 Incumbent Ann Marie Paonessa is running unopposed.

The incumbent in Ward 4, Michael Jay Slover, is being challenged for his seat by Loretta R. Bell.

Although elections are citywide, council members have to live in the ward they represent. The highest vote-getter in each ward wins.

Council members in Charles Town earn $2,400 a year.

Bolivar votes on June 7 for mayor, town recorder and all five council seats. They all serve two-year terms.

Incumbent Mayor Robert Hardy and Recorder P. Jean Reed are running unopposed.


Incumbent council members running are John Heafer, Helen Dettmer, Dave Kardok, Victoria Eckert and Frank Donadio.

The only challenger in the election is Paul David Staubs.

The mayor's job pays $3,000 a year, council members earn $2,800 and the recorder makes $4,500.

Voters cast ballots in the Bolivar Community Center.

Like Bolivar, Harpers Ferry's mayor and council serve two-year terms.

The big news when Harpers Ferry voters go to their polls on June 14 is the absence of Mayor Jim Addy on the ballot. Addy is stepping down after a 10-year-run as the town's top administrator.

According to Recorder Kevin Carden, who is running unopposed for re-election, incumbent Councilman Joe Anderson is giving up his seat to run for Mayor. Also seeking the Addy's job is Robert Johnson, a member of the town planning commission and a former council member.

Incumbent council members running for re-election are Charlotte Thompson, Elayne Edel, Patricia Morse and Dan Riss.

Challengers include Terry Hutton, planning commission chairman; Greg Vaughn, Jim Jenkins, Theresa Burns and Betsy Bainbridge, a former town recorder.

The top five vote-getters will take their seats on the council on July 1.

The mayor earns $6,000 a year, the recorder, $3,000 and council members, $2,000.

Harpers Ferry residents vote at Camp Hill-Wesley United Methodist Church on Washington Street.

The Herald-Mail Articles